Checking in

June 7, 2017 at 6:39 am (My ramblings)

I’ve had several people ask me to give an update but there’s nothing much new to update. I will not be doing radiation at this point but will continue to have weekly chemo infusions indefinitely. I was a little disappointed in this because I thought I was going to get a break but my oncologist is worried that if I stop now, the tumors would start growing back again. I’ll have another ct scan in August then if they’ve shrunk completely, I may get a break so my body can rest and then start again at a later date. Unfortunately, the metastatic breast cancer I have is so aggressive that I will probably have to be on chemo for the rest of my life. I’m praying for new drugs to be invented that will cure me but there’s nothing out there yet.

Ken and I went to the beach last week and spent some time with his dad and Jane, it was very relaxing. I stayed unplugged and it was great. We are so excited because we leave for the Bowers’ family vacation in 10 days then the Hatanaka’s, my brother’s family, is coming from Chicago to stay for a week then off to the Jersey shore with them for several days. My nephew just left a few days ago for Marine boot camp and my niece will be doing a soccer camp at the naval academy when she comes down. I’m so proud of them.

I’m doing much better on the antidepressants and not feeling overwhelmed anymore which is a good thing. I’m finally adjusting to my new normal and new limitations, which has been very freeing. I’m so glad for God’s word which keeps me balanced and reminds me what’s important and what’s not. I don’t want to get to the end of my life and have any regrets. When I’m not grounded in God’s truths, my priorities are out of whack and things that have no eternal significance can creep in and become time wasters. Don’t waste your life as John Piper would say!

On a lighter note, we planted our garden and it turned out beautiful. We love to sit outside and watch all the birds on the bird feeders and look at all the different flowers that God created. It’s so beautiful and peaceful.

 

IMG_1719

4 Comments

  1. John Pressley said,

    Hi Rachel:
    So good to hear from you! I’m praying that you get that chemo break with great results in August. And enjoy the upcoming family time this summer. I love your flower garden and can totally relate as Kare and I love to sit out back and watch the petunias bloom and grow down the pots each week. The more flowers the better. Love ’em. We’ve never tried a bird feeder, maybe we should, it sounds nice.

  2. AliceFaye Brown said,

    Sweet Rachel, Your garden is so beautiful and I am glad you can enjoy it. Yet, your are the really beautiful one. Your love for Jesus outshines any flower, your attitude towards life far outweighs anything of other beauty. Your example to all who know you is one that goes with us as we stand in awe of you as you face enormous challenges.

    Keep on shining , live every day to its fullest and allow Jesus to use you on your journey. You are much loved!

  3. Davidrnewell@gmail.com said,

    Thanks for this helpful update. Debbie and I continue to pray for your complete healing. Although you are currently physically sick, you are thriving Spiritually. Your conviction to stay focused on God’s Word is encouraging to me. Love you and Ken!

  4. wendy said,

    Thank you for the update – prayers continue almost every day – both alone and together with my hubby. So glad you have some really fun things coming up to look forward too!! ❤

Leave a comment