Quick update and prayer request

February 19, 2017 at 9:25 pm (My ramblings)

Thankfully the last several days since chemo have been manageable. I was able to go to church Saturday night and that was a huge blessing. No matter what’s going on in your life or what trial you may be going through, nothing beats being in church getting your worship on and getting your spirit filled. I’m grateful my church, Church of the Redeemer, is high tech because I know there will be times I won’t be able to make it in so I can always listen online if I miss it.

I was also able to go to my church’s Cancer Care meeting Sunday afternoon. Although it was sad to be back in the group, it was a blessing to see dear friends I’ve known for years and new friends I had just met. It’s so important to stay connected with people and to share what we’re going through. Believe me, there are days when I think it would be easier to just pull the covers up over my head and stay in bed all day but that’s not God’s call  or will for my life right now. I need to get up each day and put one foot in front of the other which is what I’m doing or in other words, keep on, keeping on 😉 

I have an MRI on my brain tomorrow at 10:45 am to see if the cancer has metastasized there so please pray. It goes without saying that I hope it hasn’t spread there but if it has, I’ll have to stop chemo immediately and start radiation to my brain. My oncologist already told me that it would not be the best scenario to have to stop the chemo now because the cancer will continue to spread while I undergo radiation. Most chemotherapy drugs can’t pass through the blood brain barrier to reach the brain which is why they use radiation. 

Thank you for your prayers and I’ll keep you posted. 

11 Comments

  1. Gabriel ("E") said,

    1045 mañana. Got it. Praying now and reminder set to pray tomorrow, before. Your faith encourages others, Rachel. TBTG.

  2. wendy lane said,

    You got the prayers that your brain is beautiful and healthy! Praying now and praying tomorrow. Kind of can’t help praying for you all the time. Love you.

  3. Chichi said,

    Dear God, we thank you for tomorrow. We pray to have good news tomorrow, in Jesus’name. Amen.

  4. Jeanie said,

    Setting the 10:45 on my alarm to pray!

  5. debbiehelland said,

    Just prayed for you, my dear friend. You are amazing … no wonder Kenny loves you so much 🙂 Your love for and trust in the Lord is so encouraging to everyone who knows you. Keep your eyes focused on Him. Don’t look right or left. He holds you in the palm of His mighty hand! Sending a BIG hug!

  6. Milagros Ortiz said,

    My dear warrior: praying for you, for strength and His will in you.

  7. Wanda Juarez said,

    Rach, you have been in my heart and in my prayers, I hope everything goes well and good news. Love you.

  8. Alice Faye Brown said,

    Hate it that you had to come back to the cancer group but glad you are part of us. You are an amazing girl of faith. You radiate the love and mercy of Jesus. You are an inspiration to those in the group who are fighting the battle of cancer. More than anything, you are so loved. Asking Jesus to smooth the path you are on and if it be His will to heal every cell in your body. Praying today as you have the MRI that the Lord will grant mercy and not let this affect your brain. Love you so much.

  9. Michael &Monica said,

    Praying for you and your husband.
    M&M

  10. susanjrodgers said,

    Praying praying!

  11. Pastor Hesbon Nyambane said,

    I join in praying and claiming the promises of God.For sure God is faithful and will hear our prayer requests.

Leave a Reply

