CT scan results are in!

May 17, 2017 at 11:36 am (Breast Cancer, Faith)

I got some great news yesterday. Most all of the tumors I have in my lungs, kidneys, adrenal gland and liver have shrunk to almost half their size! My lymph nodes have also shrunk and several of the tumors have disappeared completely. The lesions on my bones have not shrunk at all but this is normal and the good news is that no more popped up. I’m having a lot of pain in my lower back and hip where the cancer has metastasized and will be discussing radiation with my oncologist next week. Hopefully that’ll bring some relief.

It’s crazy when I look at the report and I see that I still have 3 tumors in my right lung, 2 in my left, 1 on my adrenal gland, 1 on each of my kidneys and 3 in my liver and then the ones in my bones. You’d think I’d feel or look a lot worse. God is really showing me favor during this season and I am so grateful. Don’t get me wrong, I have days where I’m so tired and I have to take a lot of naps, which is hard for me! I’ve never taken them in my life but there are times I can’t keep my eyes open. The fatigue is the biggest side effect I’m dealing with and praise the Lord the neuropathy in my fingers and fingernails are better.

The nurse told me yesterday that my oncologist will probably keep me on chemo for while longer so that was disappointing. It is working so I just need to suck it up and keep going. I’ve had 13 treatments already so what’s a few more.

I’m feeling so much better after starting the antidepressants and I’m not so weepy all the time. I’m also not feeling so overwhelmed although it’s still a struggle. That’s probably one of the most difficult things to deal with because normally I can juggle so many things and keep track of everything but my brain is just not working like it used to. I’m learning to accept my new normal and the new me and that’s ok. I wish I had more mental and physical energy so I could see my friends more or make it to church but that’s where I get overwhelmed. I’m so grateful for all the prayers and texts and notes, they are so encouraging to me. I know I would not be able to get through this without them and each of you and especially my family. I am a blessed woman indeed.

 

 

8 Comments

  1. Kim said,

    You are a fighter and I am so proud of you. Hang in there. You are an example to me of a woman fighting the fight and I am inspired by you. Praying for you and Ken. I’m glad he gave you such a great man to take care of you and walk this road with you. God bless!

  2. janet148 said,

    Thanking God with you for the report. Asking Him to give Dr wisdom on possible radiation to alleviate lower back pain. We love you Rachel and rejoice in your testimony. May the Father give you grace for every need.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Chichi said,

    I thought about you yesterday and I said a prayer as I hoped all was going well. I am glad to hear your good news. Continue to stay strong and positive. May Gods peace be with you.

  4. Karen armstrong said,

    My thoughts and prayers are with you. You are an incredibly strong woman. Hang in there. Continue to stay positive and enjoy your naps.😎😎😎

  5. Paula said,

    Praying daily for Gods healing hand to be everywhere on you and for all stinkin cancer cells to be gone. In Jesus name. Hugs and im glad to hhear this news. Praise God

  6. Jackie Logan said,

    Racheal, I am always amazed with every update you give! What a testimony and attitude of faith… positive, in spite of all you have been through and continue to face. You inspire many others than just me… Thank you and Bless you!
    Jackie Logan

  7. wendy said,

    Always so good to read your transparent, encouraging, yet oh so hard, yet ultimately joy-filled posts. It is amazing that you are not in the total pits of despair – what a testimony to God’s grace and your faith in Him. Your CHOICES thought this whole ordeal are such motivation to me when things are tough in my life to make the choice to be positive and look for all I have to be thankful for. Love you and praying for you so much.

  8. David Newell said,

    This is very encouraging news!! Deb & I will continue to pray for your complete healing!! Love Dave & Deb

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

