February 28, 2017 at 12:12 pm (My ramblings)

I’m sitting in the chemo chair getting Taxol #3 and feeling pretty good overall. Yesterday was an amazing day and I actually forgot I had cancer. I went shopping with my mother and lasted several hours. Of course once I got home I was exhausted but I still did a few hours of work on the computer. Saturday night, we went to dinner with great friends then to church and Sunday we went over to some dear friends’ house to hang out and eat dinner. It was good to be able talk about my breast cancer recurrence and let friends know that I’m doing well.

So here’s a little update: 

The last round of chemo last week had less severe side effects than the first week and other than the bone and lung pain, it was a great week. Every week I’ll have chemo only then every 3 weeks, I’ll have chemo along with Herceptin and Perjeta, which are targeted therapies. Those weeks the side effects will be worse so I’m gonna enjoy the 2 weeks in between and plan events/activities during that time. 

The bone and lung pain is not fun so I’ll spare you the details. I talked to my oncologist and she suggested radiation for the painful areas but we are going to wait and see if the chemo will help with that. I also have some good pain medications that help control the pain without knocking me out or making  me crazy 😜 My left knee has been hurting for several weeks now so I might have to get an MRI to see if the cancer spread there or if it’s just old age joint problems! I just found out that I will lose my hair 😭 There was a slim chance I wouldn’t but since I’ll be on chemo indefinitely, it’ll fall out. I just got used to it being long. Oh well, I’ve done bald before and I can do it again. At least the coldest part of winter is over and Spring cometh! 

Last week I found out the cancer has NOT spread to my brain and I’m so grateful. I’ve had so many people tell me that God is good because of it and I just wanted to address that statement real quick.  No matter the outcome on any test God is good, ALL the time, regardless of the outcome. Had the cancer spread to my brain, it would’ve been difficult to hear but God would’ve still been good. He would still be working out His perfect plan for my life in accordance to His will. My breast cancer is the direct result of living in a fallen world in a temporal body. This season I’m in right now may feel like it’s never going to end but I have to remember that with the Lord, a day is like a thousand years and a thousand years is like a day. This moment in time will be but a small blip compared to eternity. Hallelujah! 🙌🏻

I’ll close with an article that is well written and says what I’d like to say but with great eloquence. I know people mean well and think they have to come up with something inspirational to say or give me treatment advice. Sometimes the best words aren’t words, they’re just long hugs 🤗 

Thanks again for all the texts, emails, cards and gifts! I have the best friends and support system and every day I am so incredibly grateful for each and every one of you. 

3 Comments

  1. Susan Rodgers said,

    Standing with you, Friend! Great article you shared, too. Thank you. It’s good to know these things. Love you!

  2. Karen armstrong said,

    I would give you a big hug if I was there.

  3. wendy lane said,

    Sooo good Rachel! I read this last week, but didn’t have time to comment. I just read it again. I love that you’re planning to enjoy the good times – you’re positive focus is amazing (with the pain, the hair loss, the treatments, the timing, God’s GOODNESS, etc!) and inspires me. Thank you for sharing your life with us. Praying everyday for you, and Ken!

Leave a Reply

