Got my port today!

February 13, 2017 at 11:15 pm (Breast Cancer, Christianity, Faith, My ramblings)

yWhat a long day! I got my port today which I am so excited about because it means no more needles in my veins! I love this little thing and since I’m having chemo every week, I’ll also have to have blood tests and probably a few IV’s along the way.

I also had a liver biopsy to find out if the breast cancer that came back is the same type as I was originally diagnosed with in 2014. I was HER2+ and ER/PR negative. Her2  is a protein that promotes the growth of cancer cells. In about 1 of every 5 breast cancers, the cancer cells have a gene mutation that makes an excess of the HER2 protein. ER/PR is hormone driven breast cancer which I was negative in.

I actually watched the doctor do the liver biopsy because the medicine they gave me didn’t knock me out, it just made me quite happy. They also used a lot of lidocaine. They had a sheet covering my head so I lifted it up and peeked out just as he was sticking the gianormous needle in my liver. I think I said cool or something because he yelled at me and said I was supposed to be sleeping and not watching. I told him I was a medical assistant (it’s been awhile though) and I love watching medical stuff. I actually watch all the ER and Trauma shows while I’m eating 🙂

So I got some good news… I’ll be getting a dense dose of the chemo drug Taxol (it’s usually given every 3 weeks but they will divide that dose into 3 weekly ones, basically 1/3 amount every week) then every 3 weeks I’ll have it along with 2 targeted therapies, Herceptin and Perjeta (which I had before) that go Chuck Norris on the HER2+ cells. I’ll also get Zometa for my bones once a month. The good news is the side effects are supposedly much easier and fewer. Praise the Lord!  Another thing I’m so grateful for is I won’t have to take massive doses of steroids!! There is one other possible awesome thing that could happen but I need to research it a little bit more before I announce it to the world.

Thank you so much for your prayers, texts, emails, comments on fb and ig and my blog. I feel loved and supported! Please continue to pray for my amazing husband Ken, who is the BEST hubby ever!! Also pray for my first treatment tomorrow that starts at 8 am. I’ll be there for about 6 hours and have a couple friends stopping and of course I have Netflix and Hulu and my Bible and a book and sudoku and snacks! I’m all set 🙂

I’ll say good night and close out with this song that’s ministering to my heart right now. Not my will, but Yours Lord, always…

9 Comments

  1. Jane A. said,

    We are praising Him for He is good and His joy fills our hearts! So glad you don’t have to have those stinking steroids. Praying!

  2. Mary kevin said,

    That is wonderful news. Praise God. He is good.

  3. David Newell said,

    Rachel your courage is inspiring!! Deb & I will cotinue to be praying for u & Ken

  4. wendy lane said,

    You are the only person I know who could make me feel good after reading a blog about getting a port put in for chemo! Love you and praying continually for you and Ken!!

  5. John Andrew said,

    Totally agree with Wendy! That stuff they’re giving you must be feel-good juice! Isn’t it counter to what the world believes that we can feel God’s love for us more when we suffer than when we’re just normal? Anyhow, we’re pulling for you and praying for you!

  6. susanjrodgers said,

    You consistently inspire me and cause my faith to grow–surely for others as well! The Lord is good; His image is obvious in your life. May His grace sustain you through all this journey. We continue to stand with you in faith and in prayer! Love you. Praying for Ken too.

  7. Karen armstrong said,

    You have amazing strength and faith! You are very inspiring!

  8. Carol Benjamin said,

    Oh friend! I so love you and wish I could remove your hardship! You are Strong in the Lord! I know that you are drawing your strength from Him. Stay in Him and you will persevere well. Please know that we are praying for you and Ken on this side of the globe. Love you!!!

  9. Chichi said,

    I love you and your wonderful husband Ken. May the Lord strengthen you both and make this journey ad easy as it can ever possibly be. May you continue to see beauty and grace in even the smallest things. LOTS of love.
    Praying praying….

Leave a Reply

