One year ago…

June 11, 2015 at 8:44 am (My ramblings)

So exactly one year ago today, I found the lump on my breast. I had no idea what the future held or the journey that God was about to take me on. I had no idea that other than my salvation, getting breast cancer would be the best thing that would ever happen to me. It showed me just how complacent my faith had become. I still loved God, still prayed, still read the Bible, still went to church but didn’t serve anywhere. I felt empty, worn out, tired and I longed for the days when I was on fire for the Lord. 

Several months before my diagnosis, I prayed that God would do whatever it took to draw me back to Him. I felt like I was at a crucial juncture and was afraid of what could happen to me. Not only was I complacent in my faith, I was complacent in my marriage. I had no idea what a healthy, biblical marriage looked like. Before I became a Christian, my longest relationship was 2 years. When the going got tough, I got going. I thought love was the feelings of euphoria and physical chemistry that two people shared. When I got married 6 years ago, I had no idea how God would not only transform my thoughts about marriage, but that those thoughts would also transform my life. In 1 John 3:16, it says, 

this is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down His life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers and sisters.

My husband laid down his life for me daily, not only as I was going through breast cancer and chemotherapy, but since day 1 of our marriage. By doing this, I learned what true love is. I started praying 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 over my marriage and it has transformed my view of biblical marriage.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

It may sound crazy but I am truly grateful for breast cancer. It has given me a platform to now lay down my life for my brothers and sisters and help people who have cancer. One of the most exciting things I’m looking forward to is serving with my husband at church in our cancer ministry, Hope Alive. Not only is it for people with cancer, it’s for caregivers as well. My husband lost his first wife to cancer and was able to lay down his life for her as well as me. This astounds me in so many ways I can’t even comprehend. He could’ve gotten angry at God and ask why me, again. He could’ve chosen to become bitter but he didn’t. He became stronger. He joined the men’s Bible study at church and now is living out authentic manhood. I could not possibly put into words how amazing a husband he is but I know the reason. It’s not anything he has done, it’s because as a young boy, he gave his heart to God. He is not a perfect man but he is a perfect man for me.

I still have a little ways to go in my cancer journey with 3 more treatments and another surgery. Lord willing, I will be finished by September. I am so grateful for every minute of my journey and I am looking forward to what God has in store for me next. 

1 Comment

  1. Wendy said,

    Thank you for sharing Rachel! So beautiful and inspiring. Love you!

Leave a Reply

