Happy New Year!

January 1, 2015 at 6:13 pm (Breast Cancer, Faith, My ramblings)

New Year’s is always an exciting time for me as I think of goals and areas of my life I want to focus on. I don’t really make resolutions but I try to make good lifestyle changes.  This year, I’m going to make a vision board so I can see it every day and pray over it every day.

Last year was a great year for me even if I did get diagnosed with breast cancer. I got to spend a lot of time with family and my gbabies, I volunteered for several organizations and my faith in Christ grew deeper. I learned a lot about how much God loves me, how important I am to Him and that everything in my life, no matter how big or small matter to Him. I spent time praying in such a different way than I used to. I used to do most of the talking (big surprise, huh) but I have now learned to sit still and be quiet and just wait for His soft whispers of love. Sometimes, He would have to get a little loud with me when I wasn’t being obedient but other than that, I was in awe of the time we spent together.

My verse for my season of cancer was from Romans 12:12, “Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction and faithful in prayer.” That verse got me through some of the toughest times, especially after chemotherapy. As I was reading and praying this morning for a new verse for the new year, I recalled Isaiah 43:18-19, “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.”  I am so excited to see what the Lord would have me do and I can’t wait to see how my season of cancer is going to allow me to minister to people who are still fighting for their lives. I know that even though I’m cancer free now, that may not be the case forever. I do know that whatever happens in the future, I’ll never be alone because God will always be with me.

It’s been 3 weeks since my bilateral mastectomy and they’ve started the reconstruction process so I am hopeful that it will be complete in about 4 months. The pain is getting much more manageable and I can’t wait to start going to church again. I miss seeing my friends and all the people who have prayed and supported me through this tough season. I have a large box with cards and letters and I am going to use them to make a book about my cancer journey. It’s been an amazing journey and there are times that I am so awestruck at the grace given to me from the Lord. There has not been one day that I wasn’t grateful and I know it’s because God was working out His perfect plan for me.

On a funnier note, Ken has kept a record of things and when I saw it, I couldn’t believe it. Here are a few things he recorded I’ve had or been through:

  • 65 doctor appointments
  • 6 rounds of chemo
  • 11 IV’s
  • 2 blood transfusions
  • 5 ultrasounds
  • 3 MRI’s
  • 3 mammogram’s
  • 1 biopsy
  • 2 echocardiograms
  • 1 endoscopy
  • 3 scalp infections
  • 1 thrush infection
  • 23 blood draws
  • 37 prescriptions
  • 43, 896 hairs on my head lost
  • 42 eyelashes lost
  • 37 eyebrows lost

The most amazing thing about this crazy list is my husband drove me to every appointment, chemo and test. I am constantly reminded of how much he loves me and serves me, it’s almost mind boggling. I knew he had a servant’s heart but to take care of me day in and day out without grumbling or complaining is amazing. God could not have chosen a better husband for me and I am so grateful to be married to him.

I’m looking forward to this new year and praying that we continue to follow Christ and His plan for our lives.  The picture we are holding up is from our gbabies who made it for us. It says, We love you to the moon and back.

cmas

3 Comments

  1. Jane Andrew said,

    Love the list…..but were those eyebrow hairs or actual eyebrows? lol Have found your postings about your tribulation and Ken’s devotion to be so uplifting. Your caring and concern for each other is a mighty display of His love and grace available to us all.

  2. Rachel Armstrong said,

    I loved reading this! I feel so blessed to have been in your life this past year, and I’ve been praying big prayers for ya! Love ya Ray Ray!

  3. Wendy said,

    Thank you. You’re such a blessing! Can’t wait to see all that God is going to continue to do in you and through you!!!

Leave a Reply

