The Storms of Life

December 6, 2014 at 10:55 am (Breast Cancer, Faith, My ramblings)

Since being diagnosed with stage 2 invasive breast cancer 6 months ago, my life has been a whirlwind of doctor’s appointments, chemotherapy infusions, MRI’s, mammograms, blood transfusions and more. Looking back I can’t help but be grateful that my faith in Christ has carried me through this most challenging season of my life. I’m not sure how I would’ve gotten through this without it and I’ll be forever thankful for that day on July 14, 2001 that I finally surrendered my life to Christ. Faith isn’t something you pull out when you face a challenge or trial, it’s the driving force of all your decisions, thoughts and prayers. My absolute trust in God and in His will has given me much comfort and knowing how much He loves me and cherishes me, has enabled me to be overflowing with joy.

 

This morning I was reading about Jesus sending out the disciples in the boat ahead of Him after He had spent the entire day ministering to people. In Matthew 14:22 we read, “Immediately Jesus made the disciples get into the boat and go on ahead of Him to the other side, while He dismissed the people.” Jesus then goes up to the mountainside to pray alone. While He was praying, a terrible storm hit and the disciples were scared. Jesus then walked on the water towards them and the part I have always focused on was when Peter walked on the water, saw the wind, got scared and started to sink. This morning, however, I thought about Jesus sending them out by themselves knowing that a terrible storm was coming. He did not go with them but allowed them to go through the storm alone. He waited to show them who He was until their fear was at an all time high. He then walked out on the water towards them and after the “Peter incident”, climbed into the boat and the wind stopped. Finally, the disciples got it and said, “Truly you are the Son of God.”  I can’t even begin to compare myself to the disciples but I can say from the depths of my heart that Jesus is who He says He is. He has revealed Himself to me over and over again; sometimes in the middle of a storm and sometimes after I’ve gone through it but always in His perfect timing. Knowing this has enabled me to be content in whatever the future holds for me in my journey. As crazy as it may sound, I am grateful for my cancer. It has allowed my faith to grow in ways that I could never imagine. It has also revealed to me that life is precious and to make each moment count and stop fretting over things that have absolutely no eternal significance.

I am having a bilateral mastectomy and will begin the reconstruction process next week on Wednesday, December 10th. It’s hard to imagine but I’m hopeful that afterwards, I will be cancer free. I can’t wait to start the next year working on gaining my health back and detoxing from all the chemicals that have been pumped through me. I am excited because next year is going to be awesome and God will prepare me for whatever He’s calling me to next.

Please keep me in prayer for the surgery and I will try to post updates as soon as I am able. I am really hoping they will let me go into surgery with my lion hat on, bahahaha.

tiger hat

9 Comments

  1. susanjrodgers said,

    Wow, each of your posts is so moving and touches my core. I am inspired to see you walk out this storm, all by God’s grace. It is awesome to behold firsthand the way the Lord sustains His kids in ALL things. We Rodgers are praying for you and believing with you!!

  2. lindamcdermitt said,

    Hoping and praying all His best for you, Rachel.

  3. Wendy said,

    Steve and I continue to pray for you every day Rachel!! Hope you can wear your lion hat too 🙂 You’re the best!! Please let me know if I can be of any help in any way. ❤

  4. Sandra said,

    God is so good! I love your joy that comes from Him, your smiles and your hats! Praying for a speedy recovery from surgery and for a cancer free report! Thank you for sharing your struggles so others can gain from the strength you draw from the Lord. I know I have.

  5. redeemedcossack said,

    Wonderfully written Rachel. I love your focus on our King. It is all about Him and His Glory. You glorify the Lord. Saying that, I also pray that this operation will be the last and that you will be Cancer Free after this. I can’t see our King having a reason to take you home yet other than wanting to enjoy your company as so many others have. Either way you shall be Cancer Free. You are in the best hands possible, God’s Hands.
    God Bless You Rachel.
    God Bless You also Ken.

    Russ Francuzenko

  6. marcy westerling said,

    Good luck and thank you for sharing.
    Marcy Westerling
    http://livinglydying.com/

  7. David said,

    There is hope in your eyes. I see it. That hope is Jesus Christ. I only wish my mom had seen that same hope. She survived, 25 years, but still sees it as a curse. God bless you. He is alive in your hope an joy! – David

  8. John Andrew said,

    I am so with you in trusting that Jesus is who He says He is. So happy to be your brother in Christ! Will be praying for you, for Ken, for your family, friends and loved ones, and for all the people you’ll impact as they see how you are reacting to this particular storm.

    Rock on, lion lady!

    *John Andrew 240-593-5305*

  9. Dave Newell said,

    Your Courage is inspiring!!

Leave a Reply

