Doctors, Doctors and more Doctors

September 10, 2014 at 11:30 am (My ramblings)

I can’t believe how many doctors I’ve seen in the last few months since my breast cancer diagnosis. I am grateful that they are all working together and that they are some of the best. I’m on a breast cancer forum online and there are so many women going through treatment that are not receiving the care I am. I feel truly blessed.

In my last update, I wrote about the ultrasound showing the tumor hasn’t shrunk and that was disappointing. I had an MRI Monday and I’m waiting for the results. I am hoping and praying that it shows some shrinkage. I also went to my primary doctor last week because the infection on my scalp came back. She gave me more antibiotics and thinks it MRSA, which is a staph infection. So not only am I bald, I have bumps all over my head, talk about adding insult to injury! I actually kind of like having no hair because it used to take me an hour getting ready in the morning and now it takes me 20 minutes. I’m clinging on to my eyebrows and eyelashes for dear life and actually prayed that they wouldn’t fall out. I figure, it can’t hurt 🙂

I also met with the gastroenterologist this morning, who was incredibly kind, thorough and knowledgeable about cancer. He said that chemo patients can sometimes develop viruses or infections in the esophagus and that could be why it’s burning so much. I am scheduled for an endoscopy next Tuesday so he can look at the stomach lining and esophagus then we’ll know what’s going on. I’m also meeting with my oncologist this afternoon to check my blood counts (which praise the Lord have all been great) and she may have the MRI results back.

So after all those doctor appointments, how am I doing? Whew, cancer and chemo are no joke. This third round really knocked me down and I had more bad days than good. It’s amazing that simple things like shopping or taking walks can feel like I’ve run a 10k marathon. The good news is that my heavenly Father who loves me so much was not surprised that I would get cancer. In fact, He told me repeatedly in His Word that I would have all sorts of trouble so I wasn’t too shocked. It still stinks but I know in my heart that all things work for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose, not mine. There are times when I’m laying in bed and all I can do is just cry out to God and knowing He is ever present brings a comfort to me found nowhere else.

I am also incredibly grateful for my wonderful husband and I couldn’t imaging going through this without him. I am thankful for my family and friends and all your prayers. They are sustaining me. I also have to mention my baby, Kiku, This crazy dog follows me everywhere and never leaves my side. There are times when she stares at me with her little love eyes and I swear she sees my suffering. She is my therapy.

I’ll end with this video of one of the songs that is really ministering to my heart. It’s called The More I Seek You by Kari Jobe and it’s one of my favorite songs. It is definitely worth it to watch it and I believe that the Lord will speak to your heart through it as He does me.

4 Comments

  1. Janet Bowers said,

    Couldn’t find the video attached but I’ll look it up. That IS an incredibly sweet song and YES it ministers to me!! Thanks for sharing your journey. Praying with and for you and SO GRATEFUL to remember Christ is interceding for you as well. Hugs!

  2. Magdalene Rose said,

    Sending smiles and prayers your way. Kari Jobe is performing at our church sometime soon, but I probably won’t be up to going when she does. But getting tickets to see the Gaithers there in November.
    Mags

  3. Wendy said,

    Blessings, Prayers, HUGS, and love dear Rachel!!!

  4. Dave Newell said,

    Dear Rachel,

    I believe your transparency and love of Jesus is having quite an impact on all those you encounter. Your sense of humor about your challenges is very touching. You are in my thoughts and prayers.

Leave a Reply

