I survived my first chemo (barely)

July 23, 2014 at 11:22 am (Breast Cancer, Faith)

Well it’s been 8 days since my first chemo treatment and I keep waking up each morning and praying and hoping to feel better. This is by far the worst thing I have ever had to endure and I have had to endure a lot in my life. I know God is good all the time but I sure wish this cup would pass from me. I’m trying to not think of having to go through 5 more treatments with each one getting cumulatively worse. There aren’t adequate words to describe how awful I feel. I’ll feel good and have energy for 5 minutes then have to lay down and rest for a half hour. I know the best days are coming soon, I just need to get through this one.

I have an appointment this afternoon with the oncologist to check my white blood cells and I am almost too tired to go. I am so grateful for my husband who is willing to just be with me when I feel this bad. Grateful he can work from home and take me to all my appointments. He represents Christ in our marriage and lays down his life for me every day.

Please pray for me as I have a long season to endure. I want to run the race well. I want to represent Christ well. I want to share my hope that I have in Christ. I am clinging to this verse today, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

7 Comments

  1. Sherri said,

    Keep up the good fight! Let me know if you need anything.

  2. Kimberly Spicer said,

    Hi- may God be with you every moment of this journey and carry you in the palm of His hand. I am continuously praying for you. You are an amazing strong woman.

  3. Jane A. said,

    Knowing the Lord is walking this journey with you and carrying you when needed is of great comfort. I can not imagine someone going through this trial any other way….can you? If you need additional inspiration check this out on Facebook….this little lady is also a strong, strong fighter just like you. Holding Hands For Haley

  4. Cheryl said,

    Rachel: You are such an inspiration! I was sharing your testimony with some ladies at work today. You remind me of Christ and his walk and as sad as I am that you have to go through this right now, I know you are going to be blessing so many. Thank you for transparency and humility. It reminds me every day that my struggles pale in comparison. Thanks too for keeping the focus on what it should be first and foremost – HIM!! Keeping the prayers coming. Hugs 🙂

  5. Jeff Roberts said,

    Well, God is giving you a big chance to live your faith out loud. Although I’ve known you for several years, tonight is the first time I read your testimony. Our loving Father has created so much beauty in you, and now you are apparently called to reveal God’s strength in your weakness. I wouldn’t wish this on you, but I know He will sustain you for His Purposes. May you sense His continuing Presence in your life, even as you walk through the valley of the shadow of death. May you find comfort in His rod and staff. Bless you.

  6. Annie Zimbelman said,

    The family out here in MI is praying for you Rachel. Will be praying for surge in physical strength through chemo. Are you eating anything? What are your favorite foods?

    • Rachel said,

      Thank you so much!!! I am eating and like to eat pretty healthy. Unfortunately on the bad days, all I can eat is applesauce, Popsicles and chicken broth

Leave a Reply

