Happy Birthday to Me

July 13, 2014 at 7:26 pm (Breast Cancer, Faith, My ramblings)

I can’t believe it’s been 13 years since I made the best decision of my life. July 14, 2001 was a day my life changed, not only in the physical world but the eternal as well. I got sober and made the decision to follow Jesus Christ. It’s been an amazing journey and one thing I’ve learned is that God will never let me down. His love for me is everlasting and so blatantly outrageous it boggles my mind. He loves me when I’m unlovable and He’s always near to me when I call.
I’m usually on a mission trip this time of year and have spent many birthdays on foreign soil. Today, however, I will be spending it the hospital getting a mediport put into my chest so it will be easier to receive my chemo medications. Although I’m saddened that I won’t be able to go back to my beloved Africa, I’m grateful that someone invented the port so I don’t have to worry about my tiny veins collapsing. I’m also grateful that I haven’t had a drink in 13 years and if there was ever a time I would’ve thought I needed one it would be now. Thankfully for me, I learned very early on in my walk with Christ that He is truly all I will ever need.
One of my favorite portions of scriptures Psalm 73:25-26,

Whom have in heaven but You? And earth has nothing I desire besides You. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

This is going to be a very busy week for me so I could use some extra prayers. I get my port today then Tuesday I’m attending a chemo education class and having an EKG then Wednesday is chemo day and Thursday I go back for an injection that will boost my white blood cells. The chemo will take about 5-6 hours and I’m grateful I only have to do it 6 times, every 3 weeks. Sitting still for me is going to be difficult and I’m glad they put a lot of Benedryl in the chemo cocktail so that will be make me sleepy.
I wanted to end by saying thanks to all of you who are praying, texting, calling and emailing me. My heart has been so encouraged and I’m truly blessed.

4 Comments

  1. burchfam1124 said,

    Rachel –

    Great verse to remember in Psalm 73!!! One that has encouraged me also – even when it comes to going to hospital or sort of unknown scary places is Joshua 1:9!!!

    “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.”

    We can be strong and courageous because Jesus has taken all the ultimate pain upon Himself and gone into those scariest places for us. I can not imagine the emotions that are going along with this journey you are on, but I know Someone who can!

    Know of our love and continued prayer.

    Sue Burch

    2100 Willow Chase Ct Tucker, GA 30084

    770 558 6028 Home 404 863 7624 John cell 404 863 8116 Sue cell

  2. Jane A said,

    Happy Born Again Day, Rachel! What a wonderful day to celebrate and remember all God’s blessings…..sing praises, for His love endures forever!

    • Dave Newell said,

      Dear Rachel,
      I love the verses you have cited from Psalm 73. Your firm Trust in the Lord during this challenging time is very inspiring! Will continue to pray for you.
      Love,
      Dave Newell

  3. Tilden said,

    Rachel,
    I started reading your blog…and I so enjoy reading them. You are truly a gifted writer, and your blogs are so inspiring and encouraging. Thank you for sharing your life stories…I know people who have been and still are in the situations that you were in…I want to share your story with them to encourage them. My prayers are with you as you go through your cancer journey.

Leave a Reply

