Oncologist Meeting

July 11, 2014 at 12:21 pm (Breast Cancer, Faith, My ramblings) (, )

I just back from meeting with the oncologist and I’m feeling very overwhelmed. I really wanted to wait until I got back from my family vacation In August to start chemo but the oncologist wants me to start asap. The tumor grew 1 cm in 2 weeks so she is afraid that if I wait, it could spread into my lymph nodes. Although my lymph nodes came back clear, one of them is “chunky.”
I will be having a port put in to my chest on Monday, then a chemo education class on Tuesday, chemo on Wednesday and then on Thursday I go in for an injection that will boost my white blood cells. I will have 6 rounds of chemo, once every 3 weeks. Halfway though treatments, I’ll have an MRI or ultrasound to see if it shrunk then discuss surgery options and radiation.
I have HER2+ breast cancer, which means I test positive for a protein called human epidermal growth factor receptor 2 (HER2), which promotes the growth of cancer cells. HER2-positive breast cancers tend to be more aggressive than other types of breast cancer. The chemo combination is called TCHP or Taxotere, Carboplatin, Herceptin and Perjeta.
Please continue to pray for me and Ken as the reality is really setting in. It’s hard to think that I have this horrible disease growing inside of me because I don’t look or feel sick. I’m trying to keep a positive attitude and know without a doubt that the Lord will get us through this. I’m sure it will hit me the most when my hair starts to fall out and I think that’s when it will be the hardest for me.
Again, I am so grateful that we have such a strong support group and godly people in our lives and it’s your prayers that are carrying us through this season.

10 Comments

  1. Jane A said,

    Aggressive treatment for aggressive cancer…I am sure your family agrees and wouldn’t have it any other way. Praying for you and Ken, Rachel….knowing God is in control.

  2. Janet Bowers said,

    Yes you are in our prayers continually and I know God’s presence and grace will get you through. We love you and trust the doctors wisdom concerning prompt treatment. I’m praying for your nurse guide/partner that most oncology departments assign. God will work you both to give encouragement and strength.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Judy Vance said,

    Praying you up at all times. Message or call any time. Please message me your address too. Love you!

  4. Alice Faye Brown said,

    Your emotions, questions and the reality of all this is very natural and I am so glad you are
    talking about it. Know you and your family are stretched across the altar before the Lord and that you are not alone in this journey, I walk with you .

    Love and prayers

  5. Kimberly Spicer said,

    Rachel- my heart and prayers are with you. If there is anyway I can be of support please reach out to me. If you need to talk, pray together, anything needed please let me know. May God give you all His strength,
    hold you and comfort you through this moment in time.

  6. jennifernana said,

    Rachel, my mom had breast cancer so I have a glimpse of what you must be going through. May the Lord’s healing grace and strength overflow in your life. We’re sending up prayers in Chicago.

  7. jennifernana said,

    PS I forgot to say that my mom’s cancer is gone and that was over 15 years ago. 🙂

  8. Patz said,

    My heart goes with you. Rachel. I know God is in control and he will make a way….. Stay strong as you are….

  9. Paula Atwood said,

    Praying for strength and courage for you and Ken as well as for healing. Our God is with you, may you see his hand holding yours as you walk thru this.

  10. Janelle Keith said,

    I’ll never forget what our first oncology nurse said as my husband was about to start treatments, “this feels like you’re on a bobsled to hell.” She was right. We hung on tight to God who taught us more on that ride, than we could have seen, had we have jumped off. Hard but a worthy journey none the less.

Leave a Reply

