Peace in Uncertain Times

June 26, 2014 at 7:04 am (My ramblings)

Today is the day of my biopsy and I’m amazed at just how peaceful I am. The Lord has met me every day and I am so grateful for the Bible. I am glad I have His word hidden in my heart because it is getting me through this tough season. I love what it says in the book of Isaiah 26:3, “You will keep in perfect peace him whose heart is steadfast, because he trusts in you.” I trust the Lord completely, after all, He is the one who created me, who sustains me, whose plans for me are to give me hope and a future, who loves me with an everlasting love, who remembers my sins no more, who justifies me freely by His grace, who strengthens me and upholds me, who forgives all my sins, who gave me a clean heart, whose love for me is as high as the heavens and most importantly of all, who gave His very life for me that I might have eternal life. Wow. {Mind blown}
It’s an awesome thought to think that God trusts me enough to allow me to go through this breast cancer scare knowing that He is working everything for my good and that it’s for His purposes. If just one person comes to know Christ through my ordeal, then it will be worth it. I think Sean Kuykendall said it best as he was getting ready to enter heaven and see the Lord face to face, “Live or die, I win.” He went to be with the Lord recently after his battle with a rare cancer and who knew how much those words would impact and inspire me and my husband, Ken.
Music has also been ministering to my heart so much lately. Chris Tomlin’s song, Sovereign, reminds me that God is sovereign over all things, whether good or bad and that I can trust Him completely. Knowing this is the reason my heart is filled with joy and hope and not fear or anxiety.
The possibility of having cancer is not the worst thing that could ever happen to me. The worst thing would be if I didn’t have a personal relationship with Christ and then to die and have to spend eternity separated from Him. That would be the worst thing, so in light of that, I’m doing pretty good!
I’ll end with a video of Sovereign. No matter what we may be going through, God is sovereign and our lives are held in His hands.

2 Comments

  1. Patricia said,

    Praying and sending good vibes your way.

  2. Kurt Kuykendall said,

    Dear Rachel-

    Am so proud of you and your testimony. May The Lord Bless you, keep you and give you peace now and always.

    Grace to you and Ken
    Kurt (Shawn’s Dad)

Leave a Reply

