A Beating Heart

March 24, 2013 at 6:09 pm (Africa, Missions, My ramblings)

I was looking for some old pictures from my last mission trip to Africa and started reading my older blogs. This excerpt is from 2006 and still rings true in my heart today:

I am not sure just when my heart started beating for Africa and more specifically, Sub- Saharan Africa. It may have started when I read a book that chronicled a little orphan’s life in Africa after the Rwandan genocide, where about a million lives were lost. This orphan walked hundreds of thousands of miles. He moved from one refugee camp to another searching for food and safety, several times being kidnapped and brutally beaten. I finished reading this book and had nightmares for months. I did a lot of research on Africa after this and the images of these orphans are seared into my mind. These images haunt me and challenge me to do something. Anything. One life at a time. It’s an incredible feat but I am not alone. The Lord Jesus Christ died not only for you and me but for every person in the world.
When I think about the day I will go to Africa, I always remember the apostle Paul’s vision of the man in Macedonia crying for him to come help him. This is what I hear when I think of all the orphans. They cry for me, sometimes so softly that I can barely hear it, but I do always hear it.

And I do still hear it now in 2013, perhaps louder than ever. This is the sole reason I decided to go back to school and become a medical assistant. I want to go back for as many times as it takes to help these beautiful dark faces, not only medically but to offer them hope. Hope that hung on a cross so long ago for each one of them. Hope that watches over them each and every minute of their lives. Hope that has not nor ever could forget them. Hope = Jesus

Leave a Reply

