Psalm 19

July 7, 2011 at 6:43 am (My ramblings)

I am going through the Book of Psalms again and I was reading Psalm 19 this morning.

“The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands. Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they reveal knowledge. They have no speech, they use no words; no sound is heard from them. Yet their voice goes out into all the earth, their words to the ends of the world.

I love sitting in my sun room and having my devotions in the early hours of the morning. I open up all the windows and I love to hear the birds chirping because it makes me think they are singing their little birdie hearts out to God. This is one of my favorite Psalms because it talks about how God speaks through His creation. I like to think that unreached people will hear God’s message and come to know Him through the works of his hands.

When I was in Peru on a mission trip several years ago, we took a ride in an open cattle truck up the mountain side to a very remote village. It was the scariest ride of my life because there were potholes everywhere and no lights and you could barely see the road. At times, we drove straight up the mountain and I remember one of the pastors singing a song about going home to the be with the Lord! Although it was scary, it was also the most beautiful ride of my life. The stars were shining so bright and I couldn’t help but think about this Psalm while looking up at them. I tried to describe it to people when I came home but there were no words that would do it justice. The closest I came was to tell people to imagine a black sheet with a million holes in it with light behind it shining through the holes. It was magnificent. I also thought about what Isaiah wrote in verse 40:26,

Lift up your eyes and look to the heavens: Who created all these? He who brings out the starry host one by one and calls forth each of them by name. Because of his great power and mighty strength, not one of them is missing.

It’s incredible to think that God named each and every star and that not one of them is missing. They are silent but night after night, they reveal their knowledge. Next time you are outside at night, stop and look up and just take it all in. God speaks through His creation and He wants to tell you something.

Leave a Reply

