Father’s Day

June 19, 2011 at 6:49 pm (My ramblings)

It never fails. Every year around Father’s Day there is a deep sadness I feel in my heart.  Words can’t really describe it and although I am grateful that I have a new Father now, it still hurts.  Growing up with 3 different dads you would think that at least one of them would have seen me as a little princess but for reasons only known to God, it didn’t happen.  Looking back on my life, I can definitely see the areas of my life that were deeply affected by a lack of a father’s love and my life before Christ certainly proved what psychologists have been saying since the beginning of time, little girls need their daddies.  If they are not loved by their fathers they will seek that love as they grow up. They will have a daddy shaped hole in their heart and they will look to other men to fill it and the results are disastrous.  What is even more amazing is that God created us with a hole in our hearts as well that only He could fill.  I realize that now, years after trying to fill it with everything else from drugs to alcohol to relationships.  Even though at times, I feel the sadness of not having a father love me or speak tenderly to me, I know that I now have the best, most lovable Father anyone could ever want or imagine.  He loves me in spite of myself and so perfectly in a way no other human being on earth can.  His love and motives are pure. His love, totally unconditional. How amazing is that?! Romans 5:8 says “while I was a sinner, Christ gave His life for me!” Not after I got my act together! (He knew that would never happen!) So instead, of feeling sadness, I will choose to bask in my heavenly presence and love for me.  I wrote a few of my Scriptures below that I have stored up in my heart and when I start doubting my worth or feel that longing in my heart, I say these over and over. In the book of Psalms, it says “God sent forth His Word and healed them” and I can honestly say, that His Word has healed my heart. I sometimes will stand in front of a mirror and repeat these verses over and over to myself.

I am created in His image
I am fearfully and wonderfully made
I am the apple of His eye
He sings songs over me and delights in me
His love for me is as high as the heavens
His compassion and mercies are new for me everyday
He knows how many hairs are on my head
He knows what I need before I even ask
My name is written on His heart
No one can snatch me from His hand
He upholds me with His righteous right hand
He rescues me because He delights in me
He redeems my life from the pit
He restores to me what the locusts have eaten
He gave me a new heart
He put a new song in my mouth
He loves me with an everlasting love
He is close to me when I am broken hearted
He always watches over me and does not sleep
He is always with me
He is the lover of my soul
I am His beloved
I am His Bride!

Leave a Reply

