If the Lord had not been on my side

June 1, 2011 at 7:16 am (My ramblings, My Testimony)

I’ve been doing a Bible study by Beth Moore on the Psalms of Accent and today read Psalm 124. The first few verses start out, “If the Lord had not been on our side when men attacked us, they would have swallowed us alive.”  She then went on to talk about times when she felt like she was being swallowed alive but thanks to God, she wasn’t.  She also makes this statement which is thought provoking, “Our battle is not with flesh and blood but with the powers of darkness (Ephesians 6:10-12), but Satan successfully enlists human help in his scheme against us. I know that before I started to follow Christ, Satan definitely used me for his schemes. I am so thankful that God can take my entire past and use it now for His glory.

One question which really struck me in her study is this…What about you? What might have happened with your life ‘if the Lord had not been on your side?’  Wow, great question. I know I would have either ended finally succeeding in killing myself or I would have drank myself to death. I would have continued to live a life filled with pain, sorrow, regrets, shame, guilt, depression and so many other things had not the Lord intervened in my life. I am so grateful every single day of my life that He lifted me out of my pit and set my feet on the Rock. I can’t believe that on July 14, I will be sober for 10 years! Not only sober but it’s also the day of my new life in Christ and my salvation. I am convinced that if the Lord had not been on my side, I would not be here today. I pray that I would never, ever forget the depths from which God rescued me. Thank you Lord!!

Leave a Reply

