While I was a sinner…

September 30, 2010 at 10:11 am (Faith, My ramblings)

It never ceases to amaze me how much God loves me.  Perfectly.  Unconditionally.  Without judgment.  Without constraint.  With all my flaws and all the sins of my past, present and future.   Romans 5:8 says, “But God demonstrates His own love for us in this: WHILE we were STILL sinners, Christ died for us.” While I was a sinner?  While I was His enemy and at war with Him?  While I was an alcoholic?  While I was doing so many horrible things?  Yes, because it’s not about me and what I did.  It’s about Him and what He and He alone can do.  He sacrificed His most beloved possession for me.  He let His very own Son get mocked, ridiculed, flogged and spit upon for me so that I wouldn’t have to bear these things.  He put my shame, my pain, my hurt and all the things I have ever done and would ever do and nailed them to His hands and feet.  He paid the ultimate price so that I wouldn’t have to.  Not once I got clean or sober or got my act together.  Not because I went to church every week or because I was obedient or good or kind to people.  It was simply because He chose me before the creation of the earth to be His.  It’s because all my days were ordained for me before one of them came to be.  It’s because He fearfully and wonderfully made me.  It’s because when I was made in the secret place, His eyes saw my unformed body. It’s because  He takes great delight in me and rejoices over me with singing.  True love, God’s redeeming love.

Leave a Reply

