Ezekiel 36-A New Heart

September 25, 2010 at 6:21 am (My ramblings)

I have been going back and reading my earlier blogs and wanted to re-post this one because it still applies today:

One of my favorite portions of Scripture is Ezekiel 36:25-36. The Lord is talking to the Israelites but it is such a great word for all of us. The first few verses say, “I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you will be clean; I will cleanse you from all your impurities and from all your idols.  I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh.”

This is exactly what the Lord did for me. On the day I trusted Christ with my heart, I became a new creation in Christ, the old Rachel was gone in the blink of an eye and a new Rachel was here in her stead. Although He gave me a new heart and His Spirit was in me, it took a few years for me to really comprehend the fact that He made me clean. No longer was I a leper; untouchable, unlovable with my face turned away from God. I have been cleansed by the blood of Jesus. The very Spirit of God now lives in me and is guiding me into truth. The second part of this Scripture hit me one day as I read verses 33-36 and I realized that this is exactly what God is doing in my life now.

It says, “On the day I cleanse you from all your sins, I will resettle your towns, and the ruins will be rebuilt. The desolate land will be cultivated instead of lying desolate in the sight of all who pass through it. They will say, ‘This land that was laid waste has become like the garden of Eden; the cities that were lying in ruins, desolate and destroyed, are now fortified and inhabited.’ Then the nations around you that remain will know that I the LORD have rebuilt what was destroyed and have replanted what was desolate. I the LORD have spoken, and I will do it.”

I feel like my past was like this land, lying desolate and in ruins. He has breathed His very own breath into me and and is replanting what was barren and desolate. It’s so incredible to think that the God of the universe and Savior of the world not only ransoms and redeems us, He also restores us.  I never would have imagined 7 years ago where I would be today. Alive and living for Christ. Pure and righteous because of what Jesus did on the cross for me. Not because of anything I have done or could possibly ever do but because He loves me so very much. At times I wonder why He chose me and am so grateful He did.

Leave a Reply

