To Honor My Husband

September 22, 2010 at 5:25 am (My ramblings)

I am an incredibly blessed woman who has the best husband in the world. I can’t believe we have been married for 17 months now! I am so grateful that the Lord brought us together and is using our relationship to sanctify one other. My husband is committed to me (and I to him) no matter what. This is so important and I know that no matter what life throws at us, we will make it together. Our foundation is Jesus Christ. No questions. Ken is the leader and I am his help mate. I love it. I love understanding our God-given roles because in this society, it can be very confusing. The Bible is clear in many portions of Scripture and I like Ephesians 5:21-33. As much as I want to expound on these verses, I want to go back to my man. I will post about it though soon…

Ken (my hubby) has the unique, God-given ability to see the absolute best in people. It’s very refreshing and his altruistic view of people amazes me. I admire this trait in him and it inspires me to be more like him. He is also the most generous man I have ever met in my life. Time and time again, someone will come up to me and share the way he has blessed them by meeting a real financial need in their lives. Several months ago, I had a couple in church tell me how Ken paid for their date nights for a year or something crazy like that. Just a few days ago, I found out a family needed a washer and dryer and he bought them and took them to their house. He knows He can’t out give God and God is using him so much in this way. He gives freely and cheerfully.

He is an excellent example of what a loving father looks like too. He loves his kids unabashedly and has always been there for them. They know they can count on him for advice, wisdom or just plain laughter. His commitment to be the best dad to them has paid off because they are all awesome kids (well, grown ups).

He also loves me and serves me with such a passion and love that it boggles my mind. This past 6 months have been very difficult for me physically and even tasks that I love to do like cooking, cleaning and laundry were hard and left me extremely fatigued. He wakes up early every morning and I often come downstairs to find him unloading the dishwasher. He has done the laundry, cleaned the house, done the grocery shopping, took care of me and our puppy, Kiku and many more things. He makes me a special smoothie every morning loaded with super green foods, super fruits and all my vitamins. I have always has a hard time swallowing pills and this man of mine actually puts all my vitamins in a baggie and crushes them and adds them to my smoothie along with all  my krill oil pills. He actually has to pop those and pour them in. He does this because he loves me. He shows me everyday how much so and I don’t think I would have made it through this season without him. When I read Psalm 112, I think of him. My Bible has “my husband” written next to this Psalm and this was my prayer as a single woman. Thank you Lord for answering this prayer.

Ken is a good man. Ken is a godly man. Ken is my man. I love him very much!

1 Comment

  1. bj said,

    Rachel, have you ever heard of a book by Henry W Wright? “A More Excellent Way to Be In Health”. If you would check out the pages on fibromyalgia, I think it might help you. Dr Wright has done his “homework” on all types of illnesses for many years.
    I found out several of my friends already had the book when my daughter suggested I get it. A church I know uses this book in their healing ministry.

    It may not be for you, but, I feel I was suppost to tell you about it.

    Blessings.
    Bj

Leave a Reply

