Psalm 37

September 18, 2010 at 8:02 am (Faith, My ramblings)

I was reading Psalm 37:1-8 and and didn’t realize how many action words were in these 8 verses. It clearly reveals what we are to do and what God will do. I am in no way suggesting that we need to do works in order to gain anything from God but there are things that He commands us to do. When I read my Bible, I often will make 2 lists and write out my part and God’s part. It helps me to see that I am not on the throne (as if I ever was) and that God is in absolute control, always. I found it interesting that it tells us to not fret 3 times and to trust in the Lord 2 times. I think it’s safe to say that we often get stuck in the fretting part (worry and anxiety) which is basically not trusting God. It’s hard to think about not trusting Him completely but seriously, could you imagine what our lives would be like if we truly believed every single word in the Bible and acted like we did?! We would change the world! This is not to condemn but to challenge and encourage us that God will do what He says He will do, we just need to believe it.  I’m not going to write out the whole portion of Scripture but click on this link to read it in its entirety.

Our Part:

  • Not fret, verse 1
  • Trust in the Lord, verse 3
  • Do good, verse 3
  • Dwell in the land, verse 3
  • Enjoy safe pasture, verse 3
  • Delight in the Lord, verse 4
  • Commit your way to the Lord, verse 5
  • Trust in Him, verse 5
  • Be still, verse 7
  • Wait patiently, verse 7
  • Do not fret, verse 7
  • Refrain from anger, verse 8
  • Turn from wrath, verse 8
  • Do not fret, verse 8
  • Hope in the Lord, verse 9

God’s Part:

  • He will give you the desires of your heart, verse 4
  • He will make your righteousness shine like the dawn, verse 6
  • We will inherit the Land, verse 9
Leave a Reply

