2 Days and Counting Down!

March 25, 2009 at 7:37 am (My ramblings)

kand-rnc1

I can’t believe that in just 2 days I will be Mrs. Rachel Bowers! It seems like I have been waiting my whole life for this moment and now it’s almost here. This last year has been one of the most amazing years of my life. Other than 2001 when I gave my heart to the Lord, this has been the best. Who knew that when I left my former church and job, I would end up meeting my future husband? It astounds me sometimes when I think of the Lord working out His plan since the beginning of time. Everything that we go through and endure is of no surprise to Him. All the tears that we have cried, all the hurt we have felt, all the pain we have gone through. All of this working for our good and ultimately glorifying our Lord.

I don’t think the Lord could have brought together 2 people more suited for each other than Ken and me. Our spritual giftings, personalities and passions are so complimentary to each other that we have a really good balance. The Lord knew exactly what we needed in a spouse and because of His great love for us, gave us each other as a gift. One of the really neat things in our relationships is our ability to go with the flow and not sweat the small stuff. We have both had our share of suffering and we realize what’s important. One of the marriage pastors at my old church gave me the best advice and I say it over and over again because it’s really important. In regards to conflicts, he said, “do you want to be right or do you want the relationship to be right?” I think that our pride can so easily get the best of us and we always want to be right. I want to be a great wife and I hope and pray that I don’t put my pride above loving and honoring my husband.

This week has been a week of last minute running around and putting the final touches on wedding stuff. I don’t know how women can work fulltime, plan a wedding, clean their fiances house, clean and pack their own house, plan the move and then look pretty and rested on their wedding day!  Ken has blessed me more than words can say to let me “retire” and stay at home. I feel like I have been even busier with all the wedding stuff and moving than when I was working! I am looking forward to coming back from the honeymoon and falling into a regular routine. I really miss writing and one of my goals is to blog everyday like I used to, write a devotional book and finish my theology degree, which is just 4 and 1/2 classes away! And of course, serve my man! 2 days away…

1 Comment

  1. Missy said,

    Congratulations! May Christ be with you in all things and may your marriage be to His glory!

Leave a Reply

