Valentines Day

February 15, 2009 at 8:03 am (My ramblings)

Yesterday was the best Valentine’s Day I have ever had. It probably has something to do with knowing I am going to marry my best friend in 41 days! Anyways, I think that with most holidays, there is so much pressure to get the perfect gift or outdo everyone you know. I personally have always preferred to make homemade gifts, which is what I did for my man. One of his love languages is words of encouragement so I made a scroll for him with a really cool background with hearts.  I wrote down several words that describe him and ways that he loves me.  A few of them are leader, provider, protector, romancer, nurturer, etc and then I wrote up a short paragraph about how he accomplishes each one. He loved it. He also wrote for me 10 characteristics about me and wrote up a paragraph about each too. I can’t tell you how close it makes us feel when we do things like this and how it knits our hearts together. He did also get me a pajamagram (3 sets of pj’s) that were absolutely adorable. I can’t believe that next Valentine’s Day, we will be married!

I can’t post without talking wedding so here is a little update. I am so excited because I picked up my dress last week! It is so beautiful and I love seeing it hang in my closet. We got the invitations back from the printers and will be mailing them out this week. How fun! I chose my entrance song for when I walk down the aisle (it’s a secret) and I think it will be really cool. I am very non traditional so I can’t wait to see people’s faces when they hear it 🙂

I still have lots of small things to do but I am grateful that I have a man who loves me so much and is very protective over me and my soul. We decided that I would stop working so I resigned and have 2 more weeks left! I feel the stress in my life slowly fading away and I am ready to stay home and serve my man! I will have a whole month to work on wedding stuff until the wedding and am so glad. I have to pack and we are going to paint a few rooms in his house.  It seems like I have been waking up at 5 am since I was born and I am tired. 

It still amazes me every day that I wake up that the Lord would orchestrate our love story from the beginning of time. He has gone before us every step of the way and has guided us throughout our entire courtship. If you would have asked either of us a few years ago if we would have seen this coming, we both would have said absolutely not. Ken lost his wife to cancer after a long battle and was sad and broken hearted and I thought I was going to be a missionary in Africa and remain single. God had other plans and I am grateful that even through all the heartache, the Lord was working together EVERYTHING for our good. What a testimony our relationship is and will continue to be in the years to come. 41 more days until I become Mrs. Rachel Bowers!!!

Leave a Reply

