57 Days Until the Wedding!!

January 29, 2009 at 6:55 pm (My ramblings)

randknc21

I can’t believe that in 57 days I will be Mrs. Rachel Bowers! It seems like I have been waiting my whole life for Ken and in God’s goodness and mercy, He brought this incredible man into my life. 
7 1/2 years ago, I gave my life to Christ and haven’t looked back since. It was the best decision I have ever made and not only do I get to spend eternity with the Lord, I get to walk out my faith as a brand new creation in Christ. All things in my past are just that, in my past. I have been washed white as snow and have been made righteous not on my own merit, but because of the love, mercy and sacrifice of the One who gave His life up for me. To know that someone has taken all my guilt, shame, hurts, disappointments, sadness, loneliness, heartache and pain just because He loves me so much is astounding.  The Savior of the World, Creator of all things, ruler of everything, giving up everything for me. It blows my mind to know that before the Creation of the world, God chose me and knew that on March 27, 2009, I would be marrying Ken.  Ken and I have gone through our share of trials and suffering and to know that God had this planned all along is amazing.

I would never choose to live the life I lived before I met Christ. I made alot of mistakes and carried around so much guilt and shame and Christ has taken all that away from me. I am a new creation. I will walk down the aisle on my wedding day in a beautiful white gown because in Christ, I am a virgin. Since giving my life to Christ, I have kept myself pure and God has honored that.  He makes all things beautiful in His time. Ken and I have had such different pasts that it’s amazing that the Lord would bring us together. Ken was saved at a young age and although he didn’t have a perfect life, it was pretty good. He was married for 29 years to his high school sweetheart and the  last 10 years of her life, she fought and finally lost her battle with cancer. The last year of her life was filled with so much physical suffering, I know it had to be difficult to watch.  I can’t help but feel like she prayed specifically for me, which is an incredible sacrifice and must have been one of the most difficult of her prayers.  They had 3 of the most amazing kids and they are very close to each other. You can’t go through all that they did and not come out changed. They chose to love the Lord through all that and not become bitter or angry and their lives show the fruit of their faithfulness.  I am so blessed to be marrying into this incredible family and I am so looking foward to what the Lord will do. I am the luckiest girl in the world and am marrying God’s perfect man for me.

2 Comments

  1. Ame said,

    WOW!!! how cool is that?!!!!!

    i think i added that up to march 28? i’m tired, i could be way off.

    we’re getting married on march 14 🙂 it’s the date that works around all our kids’ stuff 🙂

    now i’m having to decide how i want to do that as i don’t really want a ‘wedding’ … just something very, very simple. anyway, it’s seeming to be a little more complex that i had originally thought 🙂

  2. Missy said,

    Awesome Rachel! Congratulations to you both. My prayer is that your marriage will shine brightly – displaying Christ’s glory to the whole world!

    ” The nations will see your righteousness.
    World leaders will be blinded by your glory.
    And you will be given a new name
    by the Lord’s own mouth.
    The Lord will hold you in his hand for all to see —
    a splendid crown in the hand of God.
    Never again will you be called “The Forsaken City”
    or “The Desolate Land.”
    Your new name will be “The City of God’s Delight”
    and “The Bride of God,”
    for the Lord delights in you
    and will claim you as his bride.
    – Isaiah 62:2-4 (NLT)

Leave a Reply

