2008 Wrap Up

January 10, 2009 at 9:46 am (My ramblings)

What an incredible year last year was! The Lord blessed me even more than the year before. It’s amazing to me that this same time last year, the Lord really impressed upon me that 2008 was going to be my year. I remember walking around work and church and saying to everyone I came in contact with, “This is going to be my year!” I may actually have bordered on the obnoxious! I had no idea what the Lord would do but I just knew without a doubt that it was going to be my best year since meeting the Lord.

Last year was a year of some hard decisions and I think the 3 most difficult ones were to not only resign my position on staff at my church but to also leave it and find a new one. I went back to Covenant Life (where I had attended for a few months in ’02) and I just felt so at home, it was incredible. I am so grateful to the Lord and many people’s guidance who challenged me to go there.  It felt like I had been there my whole life. It was difficult to leave all my coworkers who were also my closest friends and my church all at one time. I realized that my friends will always be my friends no matter what church we may be at. We are all part of the Body of Christ, no matter where we worship.

In March last year, I started working at a Christian real estate company where I used to work prior to working for the church. I have a different position but it was great going back because I knew most of the people there. It was an easy transition and I am glad the Lord guided me. It’s also where I fell madly in love with my fiance, Ken. The Lord has gone before us every step of the way in our relationship and it is amazing to think that before the foundations of the world was laid, the Lord knew that He would bring us together!

The other really difficult decision I made was to not go back to Africa. I was supposed to go to Uganda in September and after much prayer and seeking counsel, I knew I needed to cancel it. I am a missions junkie and I absolutely love sharing the Gospel and have done missions just about every year since becoming a Christian but the older I get, the harder it is to bounce back afterwards! When I went to South Africa it took 18 hours on the airplane to come back and it almost killed me! It’s also just physically and emotionally hard.   

One of the prayers I have this year is to start blogging again on a regular basis. It may have to wait though until after the wedding which will be March 27. 76 days!!!! Yeah!!! I am working on our wedding website and will post a link to it soon.

1 Comment

  1. Kristie Honea said,

    Hey Rachel, I saw your website on Jeanie’s blog and I wanted to tell you Congratulations again! I am not sure if you will remember me but I met you when you and Mr. Bowers were down a few weeks ago. Anyways, you had me in tears reading about your proposal. Good luck with the wedding plans! Give Julie a hug for me!!!
    Kristie

Leave a Reply

