Restoration

November 18, 2008 at 10:41 am (Faith, My ramblings)

c-falls21I can’t believe it’s been months since I have written! I miss it so much but it just seems that time gets away from me. I am hoping to reduce my hours at work a little so hopefully I can write again.

God has been so good to me and one of the reasons I have been a little busy is because after waiting my whole life, I have found my true love! He is so amazing and God is continuing to knit our hearts together. I don’t want this post to be all about him though as fun as he is to write about. I couldn’t resist posting his picture again though. ūüôā

I have been reading in Kings alot lately about Elijah and Elisha and it was been incredible. As I was reading yesterday in 2 Kings 8, The Lord reminded me of a word He gave me back in January of this year. It started with this Scripture in Isaiah 43:19, See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.

I remember¬†walking around work for several months at the beginning of this year and saying out loud, “this is going to be my year!”¬† I really felt that and only yesterday was reminded of this. (It’s only 5 am so I am going to try to make sense as I write this post!) In 2 Kings chapter 8, the Shunammite woman (the same woman who Elisha raised from the dead in chapter 4) returns home after being gone during the 7 year famine. She has lost everything; her land, her house, all of it. She goes to appeal to the king and guess who just happens to be¬†hanging out with him. Gehazi, Elisha’s servant, just happened to be bragging about Elisha and what he did for this woman and here is the king’s response to her request for her property back. “Restore all that was hers, together with all the produce of the fields from the day she has left her land until now.”

WOW! Restore everything and then some! This made me think about Joel 2:25, “The Lord will restore what the locusts have eaten,” and then I thought about something else really cool. I have been saved by God’s amazing grace for 7 years! The number 7 is very significant in the Bible and it represents perfection.¬† Not that in any way this has been a perfect year, but the Lord picked this incredible year to bless me with a new job and the love of my life! He chose this year from the beginning of time to make me more like Him. This has been a year of looking to the Lord like never before and being challenged on some¬†issues of pride and selfishness. One of the areas He was really challening me on is in the area of my mouth. I wrote back in January that one of my goals was to try to control my tongue and I think I have grown in this¬†area by¬†memorizing several scriptures pertaining to this.

God has been and continues to be so faithful to me and once again, I am in awe of what He has been doing in my life.

Leave a Reply

