The Mercy of God

September 12, 2008 at 5:54 am (My ramblings)

I have been quite busy working on several projects which is why I haven’t written in several weeks. I was praying this morning for someone I know who recently attempted suicide and I felt like I had to write about it.  This lady took an overdose of pills and was in a coma for several days and is still in the hospital. As I was praying for her this morning, I couldn’t help but be grateful to God for how He rescued me from depression and the very pit of hell. Prior to surrendering my heart and life to Christ, I attempted suicide about 6 times. Twice I ended up on life support and in the intensive care unit at the hospital. I should not be alive today yet by God’s grace, I am. 

When I was praying for this lady, I thought back to the times in my life where I felt so hopeless and full of despair and I never thought that one day I would be free. Free from the bondage of depression, free from the bondage of shame, guilt, hurt and alot of other things. I have been told that I have great faith and I can honestly say that my faith is strong because I am living proof of God’s mercy and the truths of the Bible. I am living an abundant life in Christ because He is number 1 in my life and every day I seek Him in everything that I do. That’s not saying that I don’t fail but with Christ there is forgiveness and love.

When I was just starting this amazing journey with Jesus, I memorized Romans 12:1-2 and it has become one of my life verses. These verses changed my life and I learned how to transform my thought process and renew my mind with the Word. I had to learn what God said about me and not listen to the world. “Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship. Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.”

I pray for everyone struggling with depression and any other kind of bondage that today you will be able to grasp how wide and long and high and deep the love of Christ is for you.

Leave a Reply

