How does a woman of God act?

August 16, 2008 at 8:14 am (My ramblings)

I wanted to continue with more from my previous post from the booklet, A Biblical Portrait of Womanhood. This little booklet has really helped me to change the way I think, feel and act and I hope it does the same for you. It may seem difficult to live out biblical womanhood when the world cries out about women being equal with men but it’s not. God created male and female and He made us very unique and gave us very different roles. I love being a woman and I love my man being a man. There is no confusion about who does what, how we should act, or what God has called us to do.  Because we know our God-given roles, we are both secure and able to focus on more important things. Before I digress and start talking about how wonderful he is, let me get back on track!

So how does a woman of God conduct herself?

Listen to what it says in Ruth 3:11 (KJV), “All the city…doth know that thou art a virtuous woman.”  and in the NIV, it says, “all my fellow townsmen know that you are a woman of noble character.” Wow! I want to have that kind of reputation! Here are some great questions the author asks:

  • Do I have a reputation for being a woman of moral virtue and godly character?
  • Do I keep myself pure from all influences that could defile my heart, thoughts or actions?

1 Timothy 2:11, “A woman should learn in quietness and full submission.” I used to read this and think this could never be me because quiet is not a word used to describe me but I realized something one morning while I was meditating on this verse. Quietness is not necessarily about not talking or being quiet, it’s about that incredibly peaceful feeling that only the Lord can provide. It’s a quietness of soul. Here’s a few questions:

  • Do I receive instruction with a meek, obedient spirit?
  • Do I have a teachable spirit?

Proverbs 31:26, “She speaks with wisdom and faithful instruction is on her tongue.”  Our tongues are so powerful and I could go on and on but will save that post for another day. Here are some questions:

  • Do I bless my family, friends and acquaintances by speaking words that are kind and wise?
  • Do I study and meditate on the Word of God so that I can know how to speak wise words?
  • Am I able to point people to specific Scriptures that apply to their lives and needs?

I hope these posts are a blessing to you. They are to me because I need to know my role as a biblical woman. I did not grow up in a Christian home nor did I see what being a woman of God looked like and I so desperately want to be what God created me to be. I want to be blessed and be a blessing.

6 Comments

  1. Brenda Gary said,

    I am struggling through my spirituial journey. I want to a good woman of God. I want to serve God with a clean and pure heart

    • Tina said,

      Jesus loves you so much and wants you to have the desires of your heart. Trust in him to help you grow in GODLY beauty. You are his precious child and he knows all your struggles. He will help you through each and every one of them. You are his prized possesion. Be strong and courageous in the Lord. Step out in faith and he will see you through. I pray that the joy of the LORD is abundant in your heart.

  2. Tina said,

    I have struggled with believing that God could truly LOVE me. I want to be obedient first and foremost. My desire is to be a Godly woman of noble character and I am just learning what that truly means. I have had a man in my life who I deeply love for 11 years who has played with my heart far too much. He loves the Lord also, and after 11 years he should know what he wants. He just strings me along. God wants more for me than that. So I choose to move on in CHRIST and let him go.

  3. paula said,

    This post is a blessing to me this morning! Although written almost two years ago, it applies today and I will remember to ask myself those questions as I go through my days!

  4. Gabriel said,

    Rachel,
    Your thoughts and scriptures noted; all of the above – is encouraging to me as well. Seeing you, a sister in Christ, pursue an ever-growing fullness as a woman of the LORD, reminds me to ask myself: “Am I pursuing becoming the man He calls on me to be?”. Praying for your continued focus on Jesus.

Leave a Reply

