What Makes A Beautiful Woman?

August 8, 2008 at 5:48 am (My ramblings)

Several weeks ago I ordered a small booklet that Nancy Leigh DeMoss wrote. It’s called Biblical Portrait of Womanhood. It is a really small book but one of the most challenging to read as a woman. Challenging in a good way of course because we, as women, should always seek to want to be who God created us to be.

It basically tells us why we were created, then the remainder of the book asks lots of questions. These are great questions to ask ourselves and if you really want to know how you’re doing, ask your friends, boyfriend or husband how you are doing! One section asks, What makes a woman beautiful, and I am going to post a few of the questions and verses here because it is so counter cultural and the world is telling us something completely opposite. I am going to be posting more of it in the days to come.

1 Peter 3:4, “Your beauty should not come from outward adornment…Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit.” 

  • Do others see in me an inner radiance and beauty that are the result of a grateful, yielded, trusting spirit?
  • Do I focus more time and effort on cultivating inner spiritual beauty that I do on matters of external beauty?

1 Peter 3:5, “This is the way the holy women of the past who put their hope in God used to make themselves beautiful.”

  • Am I more concerned about being holy than about being happy?
  • Am I placing my hope and trust in God rather than in people?

Proverbs 31:30, “Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.”

  • Am I more concerned about cultivating my relationship with the Lord than about being fashionable, stylish or physically attractive?
  • Do I live in the constant, conscious recognition of the presense of God?
  • Do I desire to please God more than I desire the approval of others?

This is just a small snippet of the booklet but aren’t those great questions? I want to be the woman God created me to be and I want to embrace my role as a woman. (So there!)

1 Comment

  1. Jeanie Euler said,

    I haven’t even met you and KNOW you are a beautiful woman! Keep on running the race …..

Leave a Reply

