The Majesty of God

June 17, 2008 at 5:35 am (My ramblings)

This morning I was reading through one of my Bible studies, A Woman of Excellence and I came across something that I wanted to share. If you know me at all you would know that I absolutely love words. I love reading phrases and quotes. Anyways one of my favorite authors is AW Tozer and here is a quote from the book, “We must practive the art of long and loving meditation upon the majesty of God.  This will take some effort, for the concept of majesty has all but disappeared from the human race.”

How sad but so true. In our society it is so easy to get and stay distracted. We are constantly on the go and if you are like me, you like to be entertained.  Last night, after a very heavy rainstorm, I went outside to put the dogs away for the night and I saw the full moon.  I live out in the country and it is so beautiful and peaceful and quiet.  I was watching the clouds go by the moon and it was kind of eerie looking but so cool.  The crickets and other insects were making little love noises to each other and the air had such an incredible smell. I know that must sound like I am nuts, but I think this is what AW Tozer was writing about.  I was thanking God for His creativity and how He made everything so different and special. I can’t help but think of Psalm 19 when I am getting my Creation fix. Anyways, I walk up to the garage feeling all spiritual and close to God and as I opened up the door to let the dogs in, a big fat frog jumped over my feet! Talk about freaking out. I may have actually screamed because it caught me so off guard.  The moment was gone. I was focused on keeping the dog from head butting the frog and off of me. Funny how things change in the wink of an eye.

 

1 Comment

  1. Diane said,

    I haven’t seen you in church or have a current email address for you. I would love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

