You’re Not Alone

June 15, 2008 at 12:27 pm (My ramblings)

As I drove to church this morning, I was wondering if I would hear a message that would only be applicable to fathers and I was happy and encouraged that it was for everyone. Although the basis was for dads, I think that everything that was said can be applied to anyone’s life, single, married, children or no children. I have heard messages before on leaving a godly legacy for your children and it used to make me sad to think that I don’t have kids to raise to love and serve God.  I can, however, still leave a godly legacy. For my brothers, my mom, my nieces and nephews and even my friends.  I can still have an impact on the people I love and I hope and pray that years and years down the road, someone will bring up my name and talk about how God not only redeemed me but how he restored me as well.  I hope the stories are stories of faith that I have shared with them and stories of how I really believed that if I asked God to move a mountain, He would do it. Either that or He would help me to climb over it or make is split right in two so I could walk right through it.

As I was driving home I was thinking about being alone today and this song came on the radio that I have never heard before. It was incredible and the words were so tender that I can almost hear God singing them over me as it says in Zephaniah 3:17, “The Lord your God is with you, He is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.”   To think the God of the universe delights in me enough to sing over me is utterly amazing.  I found the song on You Tube and listened to it again and so I dedicate this song to all my friends without their daddies today.

 

Leave a Reply

