Expectations

June 7, 2008 at 7:54 am (My ramblings)

A couple of my friends and I went to a singles’ event this past week and I wanted to jot down some of the things the pastor said.  His message focused on our expectations as single adults and how we can be dissapointed and even angry at God for Him not bringing us a spouse.  He said we may be wondering what’s going on and something that struck me as he was speaking was a question he asked, “have we possible stepped out of God’s will.”  He then went on to talk about Luke 6:46 where Jesus asks the people, “why do you call me Lord, Lord and do not do what I say?”  I love that about Jesus, He just gets right to the point and He always asks questions.  A pastor I know uses a great illustration to describe this. He holds up a cup and then explains how God wants to pour so many blessings into it but if we are not situated properly underneath the cup, the blessings will not end up in it because we are outside of God’s will.

We are called not only to listen but to obey as well.  In the first chapter of James it talks about listening and doing and then being blessed by obedience. I am in no way stating here that if you obey God you will get your man (or woman for that matter), what I am suggesting is that maybe we have put seeking a mate above seeking God. The pastor went on to talk about our trust in Christ and asked us if we trust Him enough. Enough to obey and put our lives on the line for Him? I pray that He gives me strength because there is no way I can obey Him without the continual filling of the Holy Spirit.  I know He has given me the grace I need to be in the season of singleness I am in now and although I desire to be married, I love the season of praise I am in now. 

On another note, I think I will pass on these singles’ events in the future. Talk about pressure! Everyone is staring at everyone else and although I know you need to be around people to meet people, this is not my idea of fun. I felt like such a dork just standing around but it was kind of fun to watch people.  I know God is not going to bring me someone at my door via Fed Ex but I have to believe He is sovereign and that He has a plan for my life and that He hears my prayers.  I made up a list of character qualities from the Bible a few years ago that I want my mate to have.  I gave a copy of it to a few of my friends so they can hold me accountable to stick to it.  I don’t want to meet someone in a crowd who is simply attracted to my outer self.  I want someone to be attracted to my inner beauty and see my love for the Lord and I want to be prayed for. I know that may sound weird but I want to know that someone didn’t just walk up and ask me out but that he sought the Lord and prayed over me. (It could be the reason I am still single!!) Proverbs 31 says, “charm is deceptive and beauty is fleeting, but a woman who fears the Lord will be praised.”

Leave a Reply

