Journaling

May 24, 2008 at 1:27 pm (My ramblings)

I was cleaning like crazy this morning and decided I wanted to move one of my bookshelves. As I started taking the books off the shelf, I came across several of my old journals.  I really wish I would journal more because I really enjoyed reading about my life 3 years ago and it gave me a peek into what was going on in my heart.  I know I blog alot but it’s not the same, since I know this is on the internet for all to see. Journaling is more personal since it’s for my eyes only. I wanted to post one of the days that I wrote in Sept 2005.

Read John 2:12-25 this morning, “When it was almost time for the Jewish Passover, Jesus went up to Jerusalem. In the temple courts He found men selling cattle, sheep and doves, and others sitting at tables exchanging money.  So he made a whip out of cords, and drove all from the temple area, both sheep and cattle; he scattered the coins of the money changers and overturned their tables.  To those who sold doves He said, ‘Get these out of here!  How dare you turn my Father’s house into a market!’  Then the Jews demanded of Him, ‘what miraculous sign can you show us to prove your authority to do all this?’  Jesus answered them, ‘Destroy this temple, and I will raise it again in three days.’”

I usually read this part of Scripture and focus on Jesus being angry. Instead I was pondering how we want proof and to see miracles in order to believe.  It’s sometimes easier to focus on these “miracles” instead of doing the hard part which is to live by faith, not by sight.  We ask for signs from the Lord because we want to “know.”  We want to have that warm and fuzzy feeling instead of standing on God’s promises.  I pray my faith might increase.  I pray that I would be so attuned to the voice of the Lord. Help me to believe that You have my best always.

It’s funny how what I wrote 3 years ago and still applies today.  I need to stand on God’s promises, I need to wait on Him. I feel like all I do is wait but I know that one day, my eyes will opened to His plan and I will be so blown away!

Leave a Reply

