School

May 23, 2008 at 4:27 am (My ramblings) ()

I took a few semesters off from school and just started up again. I am excited because I only have 6 more classes to take to get my bachelor’s in theology (in missions and evangelism).  I have some hard ones to take (systematic theology, apologetics) so I don’t know if I will take 2 or 3 classes each semester. I kind of just want to hurry up and finish but I also need to have some fun, especially with summer here.  I don’t want to spend all my time doing homework which amounts to around 20 hours each week. The first 2 years I did nothing but homework and it burned me out. I stopped going out with my friends and didn’t date and pretty much just studied and I don’t want to miss another year of my life. I ain’t no spring chicken! I have been praying as well about whether or not to get my masters in missiology and since I would be in an accelerated program, I only have to take 10 more classes and write a thesis. I just don’t know. I don’t even know what I would do with it.

When I first started Bible college I was working at my church and doing fulltime ministry but since I left, I am not sure why I would need it although no matter where I go, I am still in ministry! I also thought I would be living in Africa one day as a missionary but after praying about it for a few years, I feel like God is calling me to equip and send people instead.  I would love to be a part of a missions organization and train people to go and plant and establish churches all over the world.  I, of course, would then get to go as well to follow up and I would love to be able to minister and encourage the missionaries. I am working on becoming debt free and will hopefully be in about a year or so.  I don’t want to be tied down to material things and have to work the rest of my life so I can have “stuff.” I would love to not have to work at all and be able to volunteer my time to church and teach Bible studies and help people grow closer to God.  Maybe one day.  I trust God with my life and I know He has an incredible plan for it. For the last few days, I have heard that statement over and over by several people and although I know God has an incredible plan for all His children, it’s still encouraging to hear it.

I love what it says in Jeremiah 29:11-13, “I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then, you will call upon me and come and pray to me and I will listen to you.  You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”

Leave a Reply

