Africa Update

May 21, 2008 at 5:33 pm (Africa, Missions, My ramblings)

After much prayer and agonizing, I have decided to not go to Africa in September.  I have been going back and forth and praying about whether or not it was God’s will for me to go but I recently got confirmation that it wasn’t.  I always think in my mind that to go on mission trips must always be God’s will, after all He said go, right? But the more I prayed the more I realized that although I wanted so desperately to go back, it wasn’t in His timing for me.  This will be the first year I haven’t gone overseas and although it saddens me, it also excites me because I know the Lord will continue to fuel the fire in me and that He must have something so big in store for me. 

I am looking forward to a real vacation and am going to the beach with my brother, sister in law and my nieces and nephews!! I used to go every year with them but not for the last 4-5 years and I am so looking forward to it.  We have so much fun and I can’t wait to feel the sand between my toes and the sun on my face. 

On a side note, since I can’t go to Africa, I decided to sponsor another litlle girl in Swaziland. She is so beautiful and her hair sticks straight up in the air! It is such an incredible feeling to know that there are 3 little girls out there who are able to eat, go to school and learn about Jesus because I sponsor them. I was talking to a coworker today and she sponsors one in Peru and she asked me how much of a difference it makes.  It is such a small amount to us, but to people in third world countries, it may as well be millions of dollars. I told her that her little boy will get an education, become a Christian and change his part of the world.  His entire family also benefits so it’s not just his life she has rescued.  Child sponsorship is an incredible way to give back part of what the Lord gives us.  Think about it.  What if one of my girls in Africa invents the cure for HIV or Malaria? What if she grows up and becomes a teacher and shares Christ with all her students? She will have an impact on her country, more than I could ever have.  What if my little girl in India ends up being like the missionary Amy Carmichael who rescued so many little girls from being sold to temples as prostitutes?  The possibilities are endless! If you don’t like the world you’re living in, then change it! Can I, just one person, change the world? You bet, I am changing the world…one life at a time.

1 Comment

  1. allthatyoucantleavebehind said,

    Good stuff. I have the Lord leads you back here someday. If you’d like to read about a fellow missionary’s experiences, check out the book I wrote. It might even help you to explain to other Christian’s what your life/experiences were like.

    God bless,
    Ryan

Leave a Reply

