The Pursuit of Holiness

May 20, 2008 at 7:56 pm (My ramblings)

I was planning on writing about a Bible study I have been doing on the Tabernacle.  It has been one of the most fascinating studies I have ever done.  I used to shy away from the Old Testament because I didn’t understand it and I thought it wasn’t as important as the New Testament.  I fell in love with the OT when I had to take a survery of it for a class in school.  I was amazed to find out everything in the OT points to Jesus in the NT.

Anyways, I was going to write about the Tabernacle and as I was looking something up, I came across Deuteronomy 23:14, “The Lord your God moves about in your camp to protect you and to deliver your enemies to you.  Your camp must be holy, so that He will not see among you anything indecent and turn away from you.”  As I read it, I felt like God was speaking to me and it really cut to my heart. The Lord also says, “be holy for I am holy.”  Not only are we to be holy, our entire camp is to be holy. Set apart. In the world, but not of the world. And the last part of the verse about God turning away from us, that is a very sobering thought.  I know we are filled with His Spirit and sealed and all that but to think that if there is anything indecent among us, He will actually turn away from us. It reminds me of Psalm 51 that David wrote after he was confronted with his sin with Bathsheba from the prophet Nathan. David cried out, “Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me.”   How David must have felt to write that.  I think we sometimes think that we can’t feel God’s presence or we may even think His Spirit has left us like King Saul but the truth of the matter is that we have to examine ourselves very carefully. What is in our camp? Is there something indecent among us? Is it because of something we are doing that is keeping God’s presence from us?

I pray that if there is, the Lord would reveal it to me.  The challenge is in hearing it.  I usually don’t have to ask twice! I am so glad that His mercies are new every day. I am so glad that if we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to not only forgive us but to also cleanse us from ALL unrighteousness.  I am so grateful that although my sins are like scarlet, I am made new, like freshly fallen snow. I am once again, in absolute awe of my Creator.

1 Comment

  1. Aaron said,

    Rachel you know what you said about being sealed? is that really true? that sounds so amazing – imagine knowing that you are sealed. so if i am baptized with the Holy Spirit, would that happen to me too?

Leave a Reply

