Being in absolute awe of God

May 19, 2008 at 5:11 pm (My ramblings)

As I was driving into work this morning, I had a little worship service in my car.  I was listening to my fake ipod with my favorite worship tunes on it and pondering the things of God, like creation. The trees, flowers, leaves, the cows and sheep I pass everyday. I know I am always talking about how much I dig creation but as my very good friend LaToya says, it’s my love language with God.  It really is and so is worship so the two together is absolutely incredible.  I was singing my heart out and praising God for who He is and what He has done in my life, which is miraculous. It made me think of something I read recently and it has been in my heart for days now.  One simple sentence yet so profound.  “Awe precedes faith.”  Read that again, “Awe precedes faith.”  It reminds me of being a kid on Christmas morning and waking up with such enthusiasm and expectation of what my present would be.  That feeling of excitement, the build up days before and more so on Christmas Eve. Not being able to sleep.  Could you imagine if we woke up every day in anticipation of what God would do to and through us? If we would just wait on Him and listen to that still small voice He speaks to us so often with. What would our faith look like? What would our actions look like?  Are we in awe of our Maker? I pray that I would never, ever get complacent in my faith. I want to be in a constant state of awe. I want Him to show me things that I can’t even imagine. Awe. 3 letters but it carries the weight of so many more.  When was the last time you were in awe of who Christ is and what He has done for you?

3 Comments

  1. Toya said,

    I know what you mean… I had one of those moments a few weeks ago when I was outside with Jay putting around in the yard. It was one of those perfect weather days. Bright, sunny, but not too hot, slight breeze.. you know the type. I was checking out God’s creation and watching my husband work in the yard and I began to recall how 2 years ago my heart longed for this very scene. I felt overwhelmed by God’s love for how He has loved me by sharing these gifts with me… HE gave me a love burst of His delight and I wept…

    How GREAT is our God! How AWE inspiring! How MAJESTIC! Our mere human words are too puny to describe such a God as our Abba.

    There is a line in the new Prince Caspian movie where Lucy sees Aslan in the woods while no-one else does. Later her older brother asked her how come he didn’t see Aslan and she responded, “Perhaps you weren’t looking..” May we take each moment in the day to Look for our Glorious God, for surely we see HIm if we look for Him.

    Be blessed!

  2. Rachel said,

    Girlfriend, I miss seeing you every day!! It is so amazing to see our prayers answered with Jay. You are so blessed that the Lord out him in your life. He was such a blessing to me Saturday!!!!
    Hugs and kisses!!!

  3. sifiso said,

    wow, all i can say is wow. My God is such a good God. I know and understand where you come from. Awe of God is just amazing, i don’t think there’s a man on earth who can put it in words. His love, his protective fear i to towards me for his glory and honor, the fear of who he is, the fear of not having faith and the fear of not being without him and his love, this is just what makes him an awesome God. I don’t wanna leave his awe, in the awe of God i have a home.

Leave a Reply

