Pursuing Christ

April 27, 2008 at 7:41 am (My ramblings)

I am reading The Best of A.W. Tozer and he most defintely is one of my favorite authors. I love to read books that challenge me to live a life worthy of Christ. I need all the help I can get! Here are a few excerpts:

The pursuit of God will embrace the labor of bringing our total personality into conformity to His. I speak of a voluntary exalting of God to His proper station over us and a willing surrender of our whole being to the place of worshipful submission…
The moment we make up our minds that we are going on with this determination to exalt God over all we step out of the world’s parade. Let the average man be put to the proof on the question of who is above, and his true position will be exposed. Let him be forced into making a choice between God and personal ambition, God and self, God and human love and God will take second place every time. However the man may protest, the proof is in the choices he makes day after day.

Good stuff! It made me remember what a pastor said one day, “look in your checkbook and you will see where your heart and treasure is.” He challenged us to add up where our money went for an entire month, which I did. It was very disheartening to say the least!
It is so hard in our culture to see our time, talents and treasures as belonging to God 100%. He has blessed us so that we can help Him to fulfill the Great Commission. Obviously, it’s not a matter of God needing these things, it’s a matter of where our heart is. What is important to us? When we make a purchase do we stop and think to ourselves, “this belongs to the Lord, am I spending it in the best way?” I am cringing even as I write this. When someone asks us to serve somewhere, is our immediate response a grumbling in our heart? Do we think to ourselves, “I am too busy for this!” Unfortunately at times, this is my response. I get so caught up in me that I forget my main purpose in life is to glorify my Creator and be a vessel that He can use.
Another great excercise to see where your heart is, is to add up your hours of where you spend your time. I spoke at our singles retreat a while ago and the subject was being a fully devoted follower of Christ. I made up a little spreadsheet so everyone could log where their time went. It was a hard excercise because like AW Tozer writes, the proof is in the choices we make every day. How much time to we spend on ourselves? At the gym or the beauty salon or getting our nails done? Those are not bad things to do but the challenge is this, of our time, how much is spent on us versus the things of God?
The point of these excercises is not to condemn but to help us to be aware of our choices. The pursuit of God requires us to make choices every day. It requires us to pick up our cross every day. It requires us to love the unlovely, give when we don’t want to, get off the throne and put God back on, give freely of ourselves, put others above us and the list goes on and on.
What will you do for Jesus today?

Leave a Reply

