On the Mend

April 20, 2008 at 7:52 am (My ramblings)

I can’t believe how long it’s been since I have posted! I am finally feeling like my old feisty self again and I am so grateful. I ended up missing another full week of week due to the pleurisy and I found out I had also cracked a rib from coughing so much. That is crazy but the pain was very real. I went to Boca Raton for a work conference and pretty much stayed on pain killers the whole time. I am thankful that I could take the minimal dose and be able to attend all the seminars. I learned alot about my new job and position and am excited about it. I did get a break for a few hours and got to sit on the beach. It was awesome! I haven’t been to the beach in about 3 or 4 years and to just sit there and breathe in the air and listen to the waves crashing was very soothing. I really need to try to take a vacation every year and hit the beach even if only for a few days. I have been so busy taking mission trips all over the world instead of my vacation and I am feeling it. I need to be able to balance both.

I need to start my fundraising soon for my September trip to Uganda, Africa too. I feel like I lost the last month and I need to catch up. I checked all my papers and for the first time in about 4 years, I will not have to get any immunizations. This is great because each year it costs me betweem $150-$300 for all my shots. I am good to go for another couple years!

Yesterday I spent some time with the family which is always good. My 7 yr old niece had her first soccer game. The kids are so cute at that age and they looked confused most of the game! My niece runs like a gazelle but she is not aggressive at all and wouldn’t take the ball away from the other team.  Then right after the game, had to rush home for my 5 yr old nephews birthday party. We played all day and it was so gorgeous outside. My 2 1/2 year old niece kept asking me, “pick me up Auntie Rachel” but I couldn’t because of my rib. I tried and it was a bad idea! But her little face looking up at me pleading with me was more than I could bear. Then she had the nerve to go up to grandma and ask her to pick her up and say, “gramma, you don’t have a boo boo, pick me up.”

Well, I need to get ready for church and I can’t wait to worship! I missed the last 2 weeks and I feel like I just need to be around God’s people. 

Leave a Reply

