There is season for everything…

April 2, 2008 at 7:09 am (My ramblings)

And it looks like mine is one of sickness! I just got over the flu and missed an entire week of work not to mention my life but can’t seem to kick this horrible cough. This past weekend I was in so much pain and felt like I was being stabbed in my chest and lungs every time I moved or coughed.  I went into work on Monday and was in so much pain that I left and went to the emergency room. They checked my heart which is fine and took chest xrays and told me I have pleurisy.  Pleurisy is inflammation of the pleura, which is the lining of the lungs, and every time I take a deep breath, cough, talk or move around, it causes excruciating pain.  It feels like I am being stabbed in my chest and upper left lung. I am so grateful it’s only in one of my lungs because I don’t think I could handle having the pain in both. They gave me an anti-inflammatory and cough medicine loaded with pain killers.  Not the codeine kind but the mega, knock you on your butt pain meds.  It really helps to control the cough which is awesome because that’s when it hurts the worse. It makes me dizzy though and I am not supposed to drive while taking it so I am not sure how much pain I will be in tomorrow when I attempt to go back to work. 

I miss blogging and hopefully will be back on track with it once I get 100% well.  I am going to Boca Raton, Florida next week for a work related conference and I am looking forward to it. I get several hours one of the days for free time and will be haning out at the pool. I hope I don’t scare anyone away with my ghostly white legs!

2 Comments

  1. Alice said,

    Miss Rachel I am very proud of you. Your blog is such a blessed look into the life of someone living God. You really give people an intimate look into trusting God and walking by faith…making self submit. God continues to use you to speak joy when the human response would be “I give up”. Keep spreading His life through your walk. I miss seeing you!

  2. ame said,

    i’m sorry you’ve been so sick. we’ve been sick here, too … we seem to like to share a little too much 😉

    thinking about you

Leave a Reply

