He is Risen!

March 23, 2008 at 2:45 pm (My ramblings)

What a way to wake up, thinking about my Lord’s resurrection day. I read through all 4 Gospel accounts of the Resurrection and I wanted to share some of my ponderings as I like to call them.  Not the usual stuff you read or hear about on Easter Sunday but my weird thought process.  When I read through the Bible, I sometimes try to picture myself in the story. Like what would I do if Jesus just looked me in the eye and said that? Would I have responded to a situation a certain way? What if I was there at that place, how would I act? What if I saw Jesus healing a leper? What if I was sitting on the hillside that day listening to Jesus and got passed some bread and fish? Is it just me or do you ever think like that too? I know it’s kind of weird, but hey, it’s my blog and I can be weird if I want to!

What I really was thinking about as I read this morning was Mary Magdalene. So much had been incorrectly portrayed about this woman.  The only thing the Bible says about her was that Jesus drove 7 demons out of her.  One of the many misconceptions about her was that she was a prostitute. Nowhere does it say that although I can understand that being controlled by 7 demons could most certainly cause her to be one.  I am sure she had many issues and did some pretty crazy things under their control.   My point is not to argue about what she was or wasn’t, my point is that I am so grateful that Jesus loves the messed up Mary’s of the world! I am one! Imagine living a life full of shame, despair, hopelessness, being an outcast and who knows what else having 7 demons in you entails but then one day… one day you are walking along and someone calls your name, maybe he even touched her hand, I don’t know, I can only imagine. She looks up with her hair all wild around her face and filthy and He looks her in the eye and casts out the demons from her. Can you imagine what she felt at that instant? I compare it to the day I cried out to God to come and save me while I was lying down on my face on the floor.  I couldn’t go on anymore.  I couldn’t continue to drink myself to death.  He touched me that day, just as I imagined He touched Mary and He said, come child, you are forgiven. I have been waiting for you. I have loved you with an everlasting love.  I know the plans I have for you.  My precious, precious princess. Wowee!

I know I am rambling but I just love my Lord and I know Mary did too.  To think that Jesus could have appeared to anyone but out of all the people in the world, He chose Mary.  Chose her! Not Peter or John or James but her.  Boggles the mind.  Jesus has such a special place in His heart for the Mary’s of the world.  I like to think that anyways.  Some days I just can’t imagine where my life would have ended up if He didn’t come when I cried out to Him 6 & 1/2 years ago.  I probably wouldn’t be alive right now.  I will never know and I am so grateful that I did. 

1 Comment

  1. Ame said,

    “She looks up with her hair all wild around her face and filthy and He looks her in the eye”

    this is gonna make me cry. no, i do not think you are weird. and no, i have never really imagined myself “in the story” like this before. anytime i’ve heard someone say to imagine what you would do if you could see Jesus … it was from a negative pov. but this … can i really imagine Jesus looking ME in my eyes? wow. wow. i’ll be pondering this for a long time. thanks

Leave a Reply

