God is involved in everything

February 12, 2008 at 6:43 am (Faith, My ramblings)

It never ceases to amaze me how everything we do or don’t do is an act of our will.  We make choices, many choices, each and every day. Will I go here or there? Will I do this or that?  Will I eat this or that?  Will I call so and so or am I too busy? Yada, yada, yada and on it goes. I posted a few days ago about how the choices we make today will affect our future.

I was doing my  Bible study this morning and one of the questions asked was, describe a time when you cooperated with God by denying your will and following His. Well, that’s easy for me because most times I feel like I am following my own will so when I do listen to the Lord, things happen and I remember! I have been looking to change careers for awhile now and about 6 or 7 months ago I was interviewing with a large company I used to work at before.  I worked there for 15 years and knew that I could go back and make a lot more money.  The downside was that I would be working longer hours, nights, weekends and all holidays.  The upside would be more money and no debt.  We’re talking about a lot more money.  Anyone who knows me knows that money is not a motivator for me at all, I know it sounds weird but it’s true.  However, I am a missions addict and you can’t travel the world without it!  Long story short, I knew the Lord did not want me to go back to this company and after arguing with Him, I relented. (He always wins!) 

Well, shortly thereafter my name came up at another company I used to work for and they contacted me asking if I was still looking for a new job.  It is so amazing that this offer is right up my alley.  I will be able to use my administrative gifts and my gift of gab (yes, it is a gift) and be able to be more of a witness to the outside world. I am so excited about this opportunity and had I jumped at the first offer, I would not have received this one.

Waiting on the Lord can seem so hard sometimes, believe me I know. It seems like most of my life is spent waiting on something or for something. I find that if I wait patiently, He will give me the desires of my heart.  I trust Him to do what He says He will do and I know that He desires to reward those who earnestly seek Him.  It’s not about the reward though, it’s about seeking Him and His will and drawing near to Him.  I love my Lord so much and can’t believe how much He loves me. 

2 Comments

  1. faithwalk said,

    Rachel, here’s a BIG AMEN to your post!

    Sometimes it seems we wait forever ,but in truth the waiting presents many opportunites for growth personally and spiritually. When I have pushed ahead before the Lord’s timing it has been disastrous and yet in His faithfulness, the Lord always redeems our mistakes.

    Congrats on the new job Rachel!
    May it be a joy and blessing to your heart, as I’m sure you will be a great blessing to all you meet and work with there! I pray the Lord will provide all you need to go forth into the mission field now and again as He leads and opens doors.

    Every blessing and grace to you in Jesus,

    Susan

  2. Ame said,

    Awesome, Girl!

    Money is necessary but not of value.

    Waiting … ahhh, yes … 🙂

Leave a Reply

