My resignation

February 9, 2008 at 8:21 am (My ramblings, Prayers)

I turned it in yesterday. I can’t believe it. After 4 years of being on staff at my church, I have resigned. I have a mixture of feelings and emotions that I am not sure I can quite express. I am scared and excited at the same time! It has been an adventure to say the least. When I started working there, I had only been a Christian for about 2 1/2 years. I think back on it and laugh and ask myself, what the heck were they thinking?! They actually wanted this ex addict, recovering alcoholic, codependant Jesus freak working for one of the pastors?? What a ride it has been.  I have learned so much about myself and I know I would not be the woman I am today without the last 4 years of working there. 

Although I have many mixed feelings, I know it’s time to move on.  It’s hard when you are on staff at a mega church because people want to stick a halo on your head.  People have so many expectations of what you should look like and act.  I am so glad that I don’t fit into any kind of box.  I know I have alot of opinions, too many people may say, but God gave me a brain and by golly I am going to use it!

I have accepted a position at a Christian owned company that I used to work for before I took the position at church.  I worked for someone at the company and not the company directly so I already know everyone there. When I went in for my interview it was like coming home. I got to see and talk to many old friends. I am looking forward to this new opportunity and am praying that I will able to make and stick to some good boundaries. One of the really cool things is I get to go to a conference in Boca Raton is April! Woohoo! One bad thing is I have to make up some continuing education courses (like 30 hours!) and that along with Bible college may kill me! Please keep me in your prayers.

If you are one of my friends or members from church and you just found out, I am sorry for not being able to share this with you personally. I am sure many emails will go out over the next 2 weeks.

3 Comments

  1. Ame said,

    This is awesome … there is a season for everything … when it’s time for the next season, it’s wise to move into it rather than dwadle around. 🙂

  2. "Maggie" said,

    dwadle…that’s funny Ame! We say daddle, you say dwaddle! 😀

    Congrats on making up your mind to move forward. That’s always a fun adventure.

  3. Toya said,

    Rach,

    I will miss you here at work, but I know that God has an amazing plan for you. Go rock the world you’re God’s Rockstar Doll Baby!!

    Toya

Leave a Reply

