Awana Missions night

February 6, 2008 at 9:06 pm (Africa, Missions, My ramblings)

I just got home from talking to the Awana kids from church about missions. It was so much fun! There were about 125 kids from kindergarten to 6th grade and it is always a challenge to keep their attention for any length of time! I think they did pretty well considering.

I started off explaining what missions is and what missionaries do and explained that they were all missionaries too.  I really wanted them to walk away with a sense that they can change the world and I think I did. I showed them a video of pictures of my trip to Africa and they were pretty awed by it.  I am pretty sure most of them never saw the poverty and trash in many of the pictures that was all over the place. When I told the kids that there was no running water or electricity where we went, they were a little bug eyed! They could not believe it. I told them that many of the children only have the clothes on their back and most don’t have shoes.  I told them to envision them looking in their closets and dressers at all their clothes and then told them to imagine only having one short or one pair of pants. It was pretty amazing. 

One of the teens that I took with Africa with me this past summer was there and she shared about one of the healings we witnessed and they were really impressed by that! It was cool.  We then had a Q & A session and boy was that interesting! Many of the kids were concerned about where we slept and what we ate so I had to tell them we had food and beds.  Some of the boys asked if we got to build houses and I told them that I had but not in Africa but I did in Mexico and Peru.  You could see the boys’ eyes getting all big at the thought of being able to swing a hammer or play with power tools.  What is it with boys and their toys anyways???

Then don’t you know it, someone asked us if we got to see any lions or elephants.  My partner told them that we got to go on a safari and that we did watch a lion eat a zebra. Well, it went downhill pretty stinkin’ fast from there.  The next several questions were about giraffes, rhinos and the likes.  I had to get us focused back on missions but it worked out well. At the end, I asked if they were all ready to move to Africa with me and amazingly enough, about half of them were.  I am praying and hoping that I planted seeds and that one day, one of these future missionaries will think back on this night and remember that this is where their hunger for missions began. 

At the end of the night, I had all the kids stand. I asked them if they were ready to change the world and we all yelled really loud, I can change the world! Then I told them all that I knew they could change the world but are they going to actually do it. So then we yelled, I will change the world! It was awesome.  God is so good to give me such cool opportunitues to share the love of Christ and my heart with so many people.  I pray that these little ones go home with such a sense of knowing that God has called each one of them and has a purpose for each of their lives.  I am praying that they will pray and get their parents to pray for missionaries all over the world.  I am praying that some of them will actually change the world.

My email is worldchanger and I get asked lots of questions about it like do I really think I can change the world? My answer, you bet, not only do I think I can change it, I am changing it.  With Jesus leading me and the power of the Holy Spirit, I will change the world. One life at a time.  One child at a time.

3 Comments

  1. Ame said,

    🙂

    That’s so totally awesome!!!

  2. Paul said,

    Just imagine, if every church had someone with your enthusiasm and love for God….Rock on, oh mighty servant of the Living God!!! You love God with reckless abandon. How can we, how can I, get on board with that?

  3. Missionary Andrew Gathu Njenga said,

    Dear Breathren,

    Much greetings in the name of the lord.

    God bless you so much for the great work you are doing for the lord in different Nations. We are praying for you, continue serving diligently since we are living in the last days and the coming of our lord Jesus is drawing near.

    However, for now l have been serving with GOOD MORNING AFRICA, in Central Africa, our vision is to preach the gospel of Peace and bring down the stronghold of tribalism and we would appreciate if you can join us in pursuing this vision.

    God bless,
    Yours in the lord Vineyards,

    REV. ADREW GATHU NJENGA.

Leave a Reply

