Missions

February 4, 2008 at 6:53 pm (Africa, Missions, My ramblings, Prayers)

Ah, my favorite subject. I love missions. I am a missions junkie. I can’t get enough of them. Praying about where to go this summer. I thought I was going back to Africa but am now praying about Thailand or Cambodia. I would love to do both. I had a vision last summer while in a worship service during leadership training at Teen Mania headquarters.  Not some weird freaky vision so just calm down! We were preparing to go to Africa and on this one night, we were singing a song and one of the lines in it is:

Here I am Lord, it is I Lord? I can hear you calling in the night. I will go Lord, if You lead me. I will hold Your people in my heart.

I cannot even begin to explain the feeling in my heart when we sang this.  It was like a crushing weight on my chest. I had my eyes closed and the Lord showed me what appeared to be an old black and white film rolling of pictures of children from all nations. It was like one of those old reel to reel films, not that I am old enough to remember them, I just read about them 😉

Anyways, the picture that is seared in my heart and my mind is of a little girl from Thailand (I think) with one of those hats covering her head. I can’t shake the picture from my mind, it’s like she is calling me.  I know exactly how the apostle Paul felt when the man from Macedonia called him in his vision.  I know it may sound weird and I assure you I have my weird moments, but I know the Lord is calling me to minister to the nations, especially vulnerable children and orphans.  Please, please pray with me that God would reveal His will to me regarding my role in missions.  In the next few days, I plan on writing about the sexual trafficking that is going on world-wide. It will be a hard post, but a necessary one.  Awareness leads to prayer which leads to change. (Hey, I just made that up!)

I am speaking in a few days to our Awana kids at church about missions so please pray for me that they would go home and have a burden for missions and missionaries. I am going to show them a video from my Africa trip and pray that they would go home changed.  What a privilege for me to get to share my passion with these little ones. 

Look at these little faces, what’s not to love?! 3-girls.jpg

 little-girl.jpg   beauty.jpg

3 Comments

  1. Steve said,

    God bless you as you go on your missions trip. I wish I could get involved in
    something like that.

    Keep up the good faith. Pray for me that my faith stays strong under enemy oppressiono.

    Thanks,

    Steve

  2. Esther said,

    Wow, I am so excited for you. I have been to Africa and Thailand with Teen Mania. I think that the burden that God has placed on your heart is beautiful, and He can’t wait to glorify His name through you. Let me know if you’ve been accepted to go. God bless you!

  3. Ame said,

    That’s awesome … truly a gift from God planted in you to reach your arms around the children of the world 🙂

    And your vision is not weird at all … it’s real. God has given me many visions; they are more precious and valuable than gold to me.

    God will reveal Himself and His desires for you in His time; may you find the grace to wait in Him 😉

Leave a Reply

