Life is Precious

January 20, 2008 at 5:34 pm (My ramblings)

I skipped out on my regular church today and visited a church right near my house, but don’t tell my pastor or my boss 🙂

Life is precious was the title of the pastor’s message today. Since today is National Sanctity of Human Life Day, I reckon most of you heard a message about it. It was a great reminder how the Creator of the universe has created each one of us with a plan and a purpose.  The pastor did not focus on the unborn children who are aborted although we did watch a short video showing one. His focus was on how much God loves each and every one of us. Well, duh, you may be thinking but when was the last time you really thought about how much He loves you? He absolutely adores us and is right now at this very moment, delighting and rejoicing over us! How cool is that? You think I’m nuts? (don’t answer that) It says so in Zephaniah 3:17. Can you imagine that? Even though you don’t feel like He is, He is! Even if you feel like you have strayed so far from Him, even if you feel like you are a failure, even if you feel like you don’t deserve it. It don’t matter one iota to Him. His Word says in Jeremiah 1:5, “Before I formed you in the womb, I knew you…”  The Hebrew word that is used for the word knew is “yada” (pronouced yah dah) which means to know in an intimate, personal way. God knows you and me intimately, He knows our wants, needs and deepest desires of our hearts.

I love Psalm 139 and when I first came to trust Christ with my life, I read it over and over again. For most of my life, I felt like I was worthless, that I had no value and nothing to offer. I felt hopeless and depressed for most of my life and it was not until I met the Savior of the world that I truly began to understand my worth.  I had based my worth on how other people saw me or even how I saw myself and on what I had done or not done.  It was not until I began to be transformed by renewing  my mind on God’s Word that I found out what I had never known…I matter to God! I was created to be loved and to love. I was created with brown hair and brown eyes for a reason! I was created with a witty and playful personality! I was created with the gift of administration! I was created to have a heart for children and orphans! I was created to fulfill God’s plan in His universe that only I could fulfill!  How amazing is that??? God created each and everyone of us with different abilities, gifts, likes and dislikes and all sorts of other stuff. Praise God for our differences. It is so incredible to know that each and every day of our lives were ordained and written in the Lamb’s book of life before any of them came to be!

3 Comments

  1. bellissimanh said,

    What an amazing thing to know that the Creator of the universe loves and sings over me… and that in His divine plan, there is a role He specifically designed for me to play! I have been born for such a time as this! Mind boggling. 🙂

    Heather

  2. Steve said,

    Thank you for todays message, Yeah I get down on myself alot and let the enemy play games with my mind. I need to feel God is really close to me, closer than any earthly friend. I need to believe in His deep love for me. I need to believe He has a heavenly home set aside for me. Pray for me, all who read this, that I can be delivered from the enemies grasp.

  3. Rachel said,

    Thanks for the post Steve. You have already been delivered from the enemies grasp my friend! John 10:27-29 says, My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand.”
    When God says no one, He means no one! But isn’t it cool how He said it twice just in case we didn’t get it the first time!
    We will continue to pray for you and I know God is going to bless you abundantly!

Leave a Reply

