A New Creation

January 17, 2008 at 11:29 am (My ramblings)

2 Corinthians 5:17 states, “therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!.”
What an incredible statement. Most of us have it memorized, certainly people with a past like mine. Whenever I have a “shame” attack or start to feel condemnation, I say this Scripture over and over. I don’t know if you do this or not, but if you would look into my Bible you would see my name in alot of the places where it says me, you, them. Like in Jeremiah 31:3 (one of my fav’s) my Bible says, I have loved Rachel with an everlasting love, I have drawn Rachel with loving kindness. I am totally serious, all over my Bible, it says Rachel this and Rachel that. It personalizes it for me. You should try it! I call it my RIV.
Anyways, doing my Bible study this morning on forgetting what is behind… I came across this cool statement by Charles Spurgeon. (I just love these dudes who preached in the days of old. They tell it like it is and don’t water down the message so everyone would feel comfortable).
He writes, “We are today accepted in the Beloved, absolved from sin, aquitted at the bar from God. We are now even pardoned; even now are our sins put away; even now we stand accepted in the sight of God, as though we had never been guilty…There is neither speck, nor spot, nor wrinkle, nor any such thing remaining upon any one believer in the matter of justification in the sight of the Judge of all the earth.”
Look at those words: accepted, absolved, aquitted. I pray today that I will walk as a truly forgiven woman of God with my head held high and my face looking up toward the One who loves me with an everlasting love.

2 Comments

  1. Dave (From Meadville) said,

    Hello Rachel, I love Spurgeon too and his voice resonates just as loud and true even still (He being dead, yet speaketh) and it holds true just as much, if not moreso today, since truth never changes, God never changes, nor does fallen human nature change. (It only waxes worse and worse) England, and particularly London, certainly were blessed in those days with Spurgeon and his contemporaries Joseph Parker, G. Campbell Morgan, FB Meyer and others. But look at how dark it’s become in recent years as well as much of the good ‘ole USA. I guess it’s just further evidence that we are indeed in the last days and Jesus is coming back….. Even so, come Lord Jesus !!!

    Great Blog! Great little devotionals. You’re quite the little writer too.. hehe Thanks for the invite. I’ll be stoppin’ back.

    Blessings to ya,
    Dave =0)

  2. Rachel said,

    Well, you are still alive and kicking I see! Glad you stopped by… don’t be such a stranger

Leave a Reply

