The Lack of Prayer

January 16, 2008 at 10:16 am (My ramblings)

The subject of prayer covers so much and lately I have been reading and studying this most important thing in a Christian’s life. I was listening to Spurgeon lst night and am amazed that he can preach in the 1800’s and it still applies today. Jesus is indeed the same yesterday, today and tomorrow.
Spurgeon challenged on the subject of prayer and our lack of real prayer. What happened that we are so busy that we can’t even get on our knees or our faces like in the days of our salvation? When did our prayer time get so impersonal that we spit out a few things we want or throw up a quick prayer for someone who needs healing. What happened to praying without ceasing? I remember when I first became a Christian, I used to have these special prayer times with the Lord. I would turn off the lights in my bedroom, light candles and put a blanket on the floor and lay on it and read my Bible and pray and just bask in God’s presence. When did I stop doing that? I would journal and sing to Him and we have a grand old time together.
I remember one time I was dealing with a broken heart over some issues I was struggling with and almost an entire day I was on my face, prostrate on the floor. I felt like David when he was praying for his baby. Arms out to the side, face on the ground and weeping and crying out to the Lord to come help me. When did I cease to get on my face before Him?
One of my commitments I made for this year is to rely on the power of the Holy Spirit more. This goes hand in hand with prayer. We can’t be filled with the very Spirit of God if we are not in the very presence of God.
I have been pondering my lack of genuine prayer. Notice I said genuine, not the 15 minutes of blah, blah, blah the Lord hears but real genuine prayer. The Lord opened my eyes to show me that I may be holding onto some fears about prayer. Not scared of actually praying, but scared of praying about certain things because I am afraid He will let me down. I know that sounds absolutely ridiculous and I know without a doubt, He would never let me down but it’s almost like being a kid again. You know, you are so afraid of getting excited about something andyou hold back because if it doesn’t come through, you are not hurt or dissapointed by it. Do you know what I mean? It is a destructive defense mechanism and will and has robbed me. I am afraid to ask for what I really want. At times, I don’t even know what I want because in many areas, I stopped dreaming a long time ago. Jesus tells us we have to become like little children and I am starting to get why. Little children don’t carry a bunch of baggage, hurts, dissapointments or expectations. They believe in Santa and the Boogie Man. They aren’t afraid of sounding stupid when they ask for something, they simply say, I want it now! Right now!
Oh, I want to be like Jacob when he wrestled with God. Yes, Jacob walked away with a limp, but He also walked away with God’s blessing. Maybe I am afraid the limp will not be worth it. I don’t know. I will pray about it!
I will end with Mark 11:24, “Therefore, I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have recieved it and it will be yours.”
Oh Lord, increase my faith!

4 Comments

  1. John said,

    Don’t you think God already knows what you want? He isn’t so much interested in the questions as He is in just hangin’ out with His daughter. You’ve heard it a million times–prayer is just a conversation with God. Well, if that’s the case, when did it become common practice in conversation to do nothing but ask for things? God knows what you need–you have it today–He also knows what you want, and while you may not have it today you may have it tomorrow, or the next day, or the next. God is in the relationship business. He just wants YOU.

  2. Rachel said,

    Thanks for the comment John. I know what you meant and I know with all my heart that the Lord knows what we want and need for that matter. I wasn’t referring to giving Him a list of our wants, I was referring to that place of absolute surrender, dependency and intimacy that comes only when we spend time in prayer with our Savior. He loves us and adores us and is absolutely enamored with us when He gets us all to Himself.
    Thanks again for you comment.
    Rachel

  3. John said,

    I knew you knew what you meant. Sometimes I get carried away in commentland. šŸ™‚

  4. Rachel said,

    I will let you get away with it since you wear the brown shorts and socks…..

Leave a Reply

