Who God Has Made Us

January 12, 2008 at 12:55 pm (My ramblings)

I woke up this morning thinking about something a friend said to me yesterday. Basically it was that I talked too much. Ouch! Ok, so there is a little truth in it but I am a very talkative person. Not obnoxious like I have to be the center of attention or that nervous, chatty talk. I just enjoy conversation for the sake of conversing. I always have something to say, no matter the topic!
I know men and women differ tremendously in this area (as in almost all areas!) and women use like a bajillion more words than men each day. Here is my thought… Have you ever wondered why God made you with certain “qualities” or gave you the personality He did? I know there are many factors that develop our character and personality, like our environment, upbringing, etc. (One only need to look at my crazy mother and brothers to see where I got my spunkiness from!). How about things like being an extrovert versus introvert, or type A’s versus people are really laid back. Thinkers versus feelers, you get the idea.
I am writing about this because when I woke up I had a little shame attack about this. I started wishing I would talk less. I wished I wasn’t so comical or type A. I wished I could just let things go sometimes. Then as I prayed about it, Psalm 139 came to me. God knew me before I was born. He knew I would have a quirky sense of humor and that I would “talk too much.” I am fearfully and wonderfully made, granted I am also a little strange! My point is this, I love to talk and I love to make people laugh. It is who I am and I like that part of me no matter what anyone says!!!

I started a new Bible study yesterday Becoming a Woman of Freedom, which focuses on laying aside our hindrances, our old self, our past, pleasing people, busyness, etc..
Here is an excerpt that fits exactly what I am blabbering about. Jerry Bridges says,
Self-acceptance is basically trusting God for who I am, disabilities or physical flaws and all. We need to learn to think as George MacDonald did when he said, “I would rather be what God chose to make me than the most glorious creature that I could think of; for to have been thought about, born into God’s thought, and then made by God, is the dearest, grandest, and most precious thing in all thinking.”

I like that!!!

Psalm 139:13-116
For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise You because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from You when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in Your book before one of them came to be.

4 Comments

  1. John said,

    Didn’t God say “I am that I am”? Okay, so maybe Popeye said it all the time too, I can’t remember, but my point is–it needed to be said…probably as a response to “why are you the way you are? And why do you do the things you do?”

    You are not the first nor the last person to have struggled with these things. You are that you are. And that’s good enough for me. 🙂

  2. Maggie said,

    This is a good blog. You know, I had a friend once who often said things like this to me. I think that over time I’ve come to terms with the fact that some women I can enjoy email with, some I enjoy being partners in ministry with, some I enjoy talking on the phone with (VERY few), some, I like to smile at and say “hi”, and some I like to give hugs to. Rarely are these the same person.

    Compatibility is a hard thing.

    Overall, I’d expand my circle of friends and find those who could nurture and not shame me.

    There are too many GREAT people in the world who will say things like “you make me a better person just by being around you”. “You shine!”

    Find those encouragers to build your life around…

    You know, this makes me so aware to watch my words…they can hit a person’s heart so much.

    I tell my son that all the time, and I don’t really mean it…what I mean is…I need to think and I can never think if you are always talking to me.

    He probably thinks I “think” too much!

    Valid.

  3. Ame said,

    I don’t know how I came here, but I’m glad I did. I need to remind myself of these truths, too 🙂

    btw – I tend to talk a lot, too 😉

  4. Faithwalk said,

    I had to smile because I have my talkative moments and opinions on just about everything for sure! I love a thoughtful and deep conversation, especially about our Lord Jesus and the Kingdom of God…

    The Lord has dealt with me over the years in other areas as well, such as some of what He shows me in the Spirit and I have cried out why Lord have you made me like this but His loving reply is always the same…
    Can that which is made say to it’s creator why have you made me like this?
    Accept who you are in Christ and rejoice. You are just as He desires and He loves you, just as you are.

    Blessings love and grace to you Rachel! You are a wonderful and inspiring woman of God!
    Wish I could give you a great big hug!

    Susan

Leave a Reply

