Happy New Year!

January 1, 2008 at 1:23 pm (My ramblings)

It’s hard to imagine another year went by and that we are in 2008. I was talking to a friend last night and he asked me if I had made any resolutions. It’s funny because the thought never crossed my mind! Usually I try to think of a few things I want to commit to but I didn’t. As I woke up this morning, I was thinking about the areas I want to grow in spiritually and there are so many it’s hard to think of just a few. I am doing a Bible study on grace and it is really opening my eyes to see my tendency towards being judgmental and legalistic.
So the first area I would like to grow in is grace. I want to be a woman of grace. I want to be motivated by my love of people and Christ. Jesus always helped people out of His love and compassion. That’s what I want. To be gracious, to “err on the side of grace” as one of my friends would say.
The second area I want to grow in is by relying on the power of the Holy Spirit a whole lot more than I have been doing. When I was in Africa, I saw the most amazing things that I knew could only be accomplished with a filling of the Holy Spirit. I watched shy teenagers walk into shacks and proclaim Christ in such a bold way. I saw people get healed right before my very eyes. I saw hundreds of lives being transformed by Christ and I have to admit that it had nothing to do with us and everything to do with Jesus and His power. I want to walk in His power. I don’t want to doubt, I want to be faith and spirit filled. I want to know the power of His resurrection.
Thirdly, this is a tough one for me. I need to keep a tight rein on my tongue. It’s no wonder the Bible says our tongues are a restless evil full of deadly poison. Those are very strong words. My friends joke with me whenever I am not controlling my tongue by saying “mouth book.” I have a “mouth book” and carry it around in my purse. I am always writing Scriptures down and whenever I am struggling with an issue (which is always!) I look up all the Scriptures in the Bible pertaining to the issue and write them down on index cards then I put them in a small photo album to carry with me and read over and over. It is a great way to renew my mind and memorize Scriptures. I have several of these little “books” and it is a great way to “take my thoughts captive and make them obedient to Christ.”
So, those are the 3 biggies for me that I want to focus on. Today I will make up a “grace” book and a Holy Spirit “power” book.
I really think this is going to be a life-changing year for me. I have a few “decisions” I am praying about and need to make that will alter the course of my life and I really need wisdom and guidance from the Lord. I don’t want to make any decisions based on my feelings or fear but out of obedience to Christ. Either way, I know no matter what I choose, He will guide me and be near me. How cool is that?

1 Comment

  1. John said,

    You’re a busy little bee aren’t you? You write little books, you blog, you get up with the sun…sheesh! I get tired just typing that.

    I think it’s great that you are driven in things toward God.

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

